06 July 2022 – Banyana Banyana lead the list of nominees for the 2022 Player of the Year award with six players, the most by a country, making the preliminary list released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) on Tuesday afternoon.

The official ceremony will be held on 21 July 2022 in Rabat, Morocco ahead of the final of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) that is currently taking place in Morocco until 23 July 2022.

All the six nominees were part of the gallant Banyana Banyana team that convincingly won the opening Group C encounter against WAFCON defending champions Nigeria in Africa’s flagship women’s tournament on 4 July 2022, with Jermaine Seoposenwe registering her name on the  scoresheet.

The Hollywoodbets Super League is well represented in the list as besides the recognition given to Dlamini and Mbane, who ply their trade in the league, their club Mamelodi Sundowns  is one of the nominees for the Club of the Year (women) award.

The South African Football Association (SAFA) congratulates all of these incredible ambassadors for continuing to hoist the country’s flag high and proudly. 

South African nominees for the Player of The Year

1)      Andile Dlamini – Mamelodi Sundowns FC

2)      Bambanani Mbane – Mamelodi Sundowns FC

3)      Thembi Kgatlana – Racing Louisville FC

4)      Jermaine Seoposenwe- SC Braga

5)      Refiloe Jane – AC Milan

6)      Linda Motlhalo- Djugardens IF