05 February 2022 – The South African Senior Women’s National team (Banyana Banyana) coach Desiree Ellis has assembled a 23-woman squad for a training camp that will run from 5 -13 February 2022.

This is the first time that Banyana Banyana will get together since October 2021 when they played neighbours Mozambique in the AWCON qualifier an emerged victorious with an aggregate of 13-0 (7-0 first leg and 6-0 in the second leg).

The team will travel to Zambia on Thursday, 10 February and will face the Copper Queens on Saturday 12 February.

Coach Ellis highlighted that the purpose of the training camp is preparation for the AWCON qualifier against Algeria, with the first leg at home scheduled to place on Friday, 18 February and the second leg (away) on 23 February.

“The training camp is for preparation more than anything and we will be using locally based players due to the International Friendly falling outside of the FIFA Dates.” Said Ellis.

Bongeka Gamede (University of Western) and Lelona Daweti (Mamelodi Sundowns FC) who were part of the initial 25- woman squad have been forced to withdraw due to injuries.  

Banyana Banyana 23-woman Squad


  • Andile DlaminiI (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Kaylin Swart (JVW FC)
  • Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)
  • Karabo Mohale (University of Johannesburg)


  • Antonia Maponya (University of Western Cape)
  • Koketso Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Karabo Makhurubetshi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Janine Van Wyk (JVW FC)
  • Tiisetso Makhubela (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Asanda Hadebe (Sunflower FC)


  • Gabriela Salgado ( JVW FC)
  • Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape)
  • Thalea Smidt (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC)
  • Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC)
  • Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape)
  • Oratile Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC )


  • Hildah Magaia (Moron BK, Sweden)
  • Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Wendy Shongwe (University of Pretoria)
  • Nthabiseng Majiya (Richmond Ladies FC)
  • Rhoda Mulaudzi (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)