26 November 2019 – Interim head coach of the South African U-20 Men’s National Team, Helman Mkhalele, has selected a squad of 20 players to take part in the 2019 COSAFA Men’s Championship that will be held in Zambia from 4 – 14 December.

The players have already assembled for camp in Johannesburg.

Amajita, who are the defending champions, have been drawn in Group B against Lesotho, Madagascar and Mauritius.

In Group A hosts Zambia will be up against Malawi, Comoro Islands and Botswana, while Angola, Mozambique, Eswatini and Seychelles are all in Group C.

The top team in each group will advance to the semi-finals along with the best runners up.

Amajita have won the last two editions of the tournment under former coach Thabo Senong (who is now guiding the fortunes of the Lesotho Senior Men’s National Team).

South Africa has claimed a record four titles, followed by Zambia with three.

Mkhalele’s charges kick off the defence of their title with a clash against Mauritius on Thursday, 5 December, followed three days later (Sunday, 8 December) by the fixture against Madagascar. The last group stages match will be against Lesotho on Tuesday, 10 December.

The 2019 competition is the culmination of a busy month for COSAFA that has seen the staging of the Men’s Senior and Under-17 championships, and Women’s Senior, Under-20 and Under-17 finals – a record six competitions.

COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship Draw:

Group A
A1 – Zambia
A2 – Malawi
A3 – Comoros Islands
A4 – Botswana

Group B
B1 – South Africa
B2 – Lesotho
B3 – Madagascar
B4 – Mauritius

Group C
C1 – Angola
C2 – Mozambique
C3 – Eswatini
C4 – Seychelles


SA U-20 squad for 2019 COSAFA CUP

1. Olwethu MZIMELA Amazulu FC
2. Prince CUWEN Bidvest Wits FC
3. Bontle MOLEFE Kaizer Chiefs FC
4. Athenkosi MCABA Bidvest Wits FC
5. Sabelo PHAKATHI Maritzburg United FC
6. Bilal BALOYI Supersport United FC
7. Rival DO PRESENT Ubuntu FC
8. Khothatso BALIPILE Grey College
9. Siyanda MSANI Mamelodi Sundowns FC
10. Tshepo MYENI Kaizer Chiefs FC
11. Mohamed SHAHABODIEN Stars of Africa
12. Vusumuzi PLAMANA Ubuntu FC
13. Oswin APPOLIS Supersport United FC
14. Lancster HUMAN Bidvest Wits FC
15. Selaelo RASEBOTJA School of Excellence
16. Keagan MITCHELL Bidvest Wits FC
17. Keletso SIFAMA Kaizer Chiefs FC
18. Rahim MILAZI Kaizer Chiefs FC
19. Sinenjongo MKIVA Bidvest Wits FC
20. Keenan BEZUIDENHOUT Ubuntu FC