4 October 2019 – The South Africa Men’s u23 National Team will play Egypt in a friendly international next Sunday, 13 October 2019. They will also play a practice game against the same opponents on 11 October in the Egyptian capital, Cairo.

The David Notoane coached side will fly to Egypt on 9 October 2019.

The matches against Egypt are part of the preparations for the u23 Africa Cup of Nations which will take place in Egypt next month.

The team assembles this Sunday, 6 October 2019 in Johannesburg before flying out three days later.

Notoane has called up almost the same squad that qualified for the u23 Africa Cup of Nations for the trip to Egypt.

In a draw held this week, South Africa were drawn in Group B together with Nigeria, Ivory Coast and Zambia while Group A consists of hosts Egypt, Mali, Cameroon and Ghana.

Group A will play their games at the Cairo International Stadium while Group B will play their matches at the Al Salam Stadium.

The top three teams at the tournament will qualify to represent Africa at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

South Africa kick-start their campaign with a clash against neighbours Zambia on Saturday, 9 November, followed by the defending champions Nigeria three days later (Tuesday, 12 November). The last fixture in the group stages is against Ivory Coast on Friday, 15 November.

Squad to play Egypt in friendly matches:






1 Mondli MPOTO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
2 Darren JOHNSON Ajax Town FC (SA)
3 Andile MBANJWA Richards Bay FC (SA)
4 Thendo MUKUMELA Ajax Town FC (SA)
5 Siyanda NGEZANA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
6 Sandile MTHETHWA Chippa United FC (SA)
7 Thabiso MONYANE Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
8 Happy MASHIANE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9 Bongani SAM Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
10 Tercious MALEPE Chippa United FC (SA)
11 Katleho MOHAMME University of Pretoria FC (SA)
12 Athenkosi DLALA University of Pretoria FC (SA)
13 Gift LINKS Aarhus Gymmnastikforening FC (DANMARK)
14 Kobamelo KODISANG FC Braga B (PORTUGAL)
15 Kamohelo MAHLATSI University of Pretoria FC (SA)
16 Grant MAGERMAN Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
17 Jamie WEBBER Supersport United FC (SA)
18 Thabo CELE Cova da Piedade FC (PORTUGAL)
19 Luther SINGH Morierense FC (PORTUGAL)
20 Phakamani MAHLAMBI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
21 Lyle FOSTER Cercle Brugge FC (BELGIUM)
23 Itumeleng SHOPANE Swallows FC (SA)