8 August 2019 – Head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana Desiree Ellis has named her starting lineup for the semifinal clash against Zimbabwe in the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Championship and made two changes.

Ellis has brought Busisiwe Ndimeni and Amanda Mthandi back into the first eleven – with Kholosa Biyana and Ode Fulutudilu making way.

Andile Dlamini continues in goals.

The back four remains the same – Lebohang Ramalepe and Bongeka Gamede at right and left back respectively, while Bambanani Mbane partners Tiisetso Makhubela in central defence.

Mamello Makhabane, captain Refiloe Jane and Robyn Moodaly will operate in midfield.

The role of scoring goals has been left to Ndimeni, Mthandi and Noxolo Cesane.

Jane, Gamede, Makhubela and Ramalepe will be starting their fourth games in a row. Even though she is making her fourth appearance in the tournament, Cesane came on as a substititute in the first two matches.

South Africa and Zimbabwe clash at Wolfson Stadium this afternoon (Thursday, 8 August 2019) at 15h30.

Banyana Banyana and Zimbabwe last met in the final of this competition in Bulawayo in 2017, with South Africa lifting the trophy following a 2-1 victory – Thembi Kgatlana and Leandra Smeda scored in that match.


Banyana Banyana XI vs Zimbabwe

Andile Dlamini (GK), Lebohang Ramalepe, Bambanani Mbane, Tiisetso Makhubela, Bongeka Gamede, Mamello Makhabane, Robyn Moodaly, Refiloe Jane (c), Amanda Mthandi, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Noxolo Cesane


Kaylin Swart (GK), Noko Matlou, Hildah Magaia, Ongeziwe Ndlangisa, Priscilla Pesa, Shange Sthembile, Kholosa Biyana, Ode Fulutudilu


Janine van Wyk

Head Coach: Desiree Ellis