23 August 2017 Bafana Bafana goalkeepers Itumeleng Khune and Darren Keet have been withdrawn from the squad that will take on Cape Verde in back to back 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Khune is down with a chest infection while Keet is suffering from a knee injury.

Head coach Stuart Baxter has called up Reyaad Pieterse of Supersport United as well as Wayne Sandilands of Orlando Pirates as replacements.

South Africa faces Cape Verde on Friday, 1 September 2017 at the Estadio Nacional Stadium in Cape Verde.

Kickoff is at 17h30 local time (20h30 SA time).

The return leg will be played on Tuesday, 5 September at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Kickoff is at 19h00.

Bafana Bafana assemble for camp on Sunday, 27 August 2017 in Johannesburg, and expected to travel to Cape Verde on Tuesday, 29 August.


Updated Bafana Bafana squad:



1. Riyaad PIETERSE Supersport United FC (SA)
2. Wayne SANDILANDS Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
3. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
4. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Rivaldo COETZEE Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO (C) Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
8. Morgan GOULD Supersport United (SA)
9. Abbubaker MOBARA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
10. Tebogo LANGERMAN Mamelodi Sundowns FC
11. Sifiso HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
12. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
13. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier (France)
14. Andle JALI KV Oostende FC (SA)
15. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (Netherlands)
16. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
17. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
18. Bongani ZUNGU Vitoria Guimares (Portugal)
19. Thulani SERERO SBV Vitesse (Holland)
20. Daylon KLAASEN Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
21. Percy TAU Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
22. Lebohang MANYAMA Cape Town City FC (SA)
23. Tokelo RANTIE Genclerbirligi FC (Turkey)
24. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
25. Kermit ERASMUS Rennes (France)