Malawi: 2 (Tsamba 26’; 50;

South Africa: 1 (Nare 67’)

30 July 2017 – The South African U17 Men’s National Team (Amajimbos) lost out on the bronze medal of the 2017 edition of the COSAFA U17 Championships following their 2-1 defeat to Malawi, on Sunday, 30 July.

A brace from forward Alex Tsamba was enough for the Malawians to walk away with the bronze after he headed in two beautiful goals in the 26th and 50th minute of the match. Amajimbos were caught wondering with both goals as Tsamba cancelled out three defenders on both accounts.

Amajimbos Head Coach brought on Thabang Maema to replace Constandin Christodoulou, giving Maema his first international cap.

Ntseki then made a double substitution in search of the goal in the 64th minute when he brought on Ramatlo and Tshobeni in place of Shahabobien and McFarlane respectively. This seemed to work as Nare was fouled soon after that and the referee pointed to the penalty spot.

Malawi’s goalkeeper Nankhaima made a good save however; Nare benefited from the rebound ball and headed in the consolation goal for South Africa in the 67th minute.

“We are happy to have been part of the 2017 COSAFA Cup, out main objectives have been met. We managed to play five matches, and ensure that the players were exposed to international football.

Congratulations to Malawi, they took their chances and we just did not;”said Ntseki.

This is how they lined up:

South African starting XI: Constandin Christodoulou (GK) (Maema 62); Omphile Moeletsi; Koketso Mathibe; Kieron Jacks (C); Barry Sithole; Cade Erickson; Storm Jonas ; Mohammed Shahabodien’(Ramatlo 64’); Lungile Makhambi; James McFarlene; Junior Nare

Substitutions: Thabang Maema; Joshua Momdu; Junior Khiba; Alex Da Silva; Sizwe Ntanzi; Boikanyo Segotlong; Olifile Ramatlo; Azola Tshobeni

Bryn Deelay injured during the warm up.

Malawian starting XI: Kennedy Nankhaima (GK); Newton Nsoma; Innocent Shema; Hadji Wali (C); David Daudi; Alex Tsamba; Auspicious Kadzongola; Josephy Balakasi; Franklin Titani; Chinsinsi Maonga; Patrick Mwaungula

Substitutions: Luciano Matewere; Vitumbiko Nyirenda; Prince Chingancheke; Daniel Sandukira; Bornwell Matemba; Chikondi Mbeta; Hamid Balala; Wongani Sabiti (GK)

Match Officials:

Referee: Baillache Jean Brandy Stevie ((Mauritius)

1st Assistant Referee: Jimmy Phiri (Zambia)

2nd Assistant Referee: Cauvelet Louis Ralph Fabien (Mauritius)