26 January 2024 – The South African Football Association’s (SAFA) Technical Department has wrapped up  a two-day coaching methodology workshop for its junior national teams.
Coaches who have been assigned to the four junior men’s national teams gathered from 25 – 26 January 2024 at SAFA House for the two-day workshop.
The main purpose of the workshop was to align the style of play for all the South African national teams, for the coaches to understand what is needed from them in terms of player scouting, profiling and game execution, and their mandate from the Association.
It is also important that the junior national team coaches build a network around each other, and to ensure player progression from U15 upwards.
SAFA Technical Director spoke to www.safa.net and highlighted some of the main topics that were  presented.
“We are very grateful to the Technical Committee for endorsing this workshop, and very happy that our Chairperson Mr Jack Maluleka was in attendance.
We are also honoured to have had Coach Pitso Mosimane come through on Day One to present the 4-4-2 formation with inverted wingers’ variation and some strengths that he believes we possess as a country,” said Steenbook.
“The main topics of discussion were on;
  • 1) how to implement the National Playing Philosophy
  • 2) creating a bank of training principles for the youth teams
  • 3) delivering a technological framework for match preparations for all age groups
  • 4) trends from 2022 FIFA U-17 World Cup
  • 5) the SAFA Technical Development Plan
  • 6) leadership and interaction between the Technical Director and junior national team coaches
  • 7)  developing a modern goalkeeper
  • 8) match analysis (from preparation to post match)
  • 9) the Technical Study reports from some of our previous tournaments played in COSAFA at U-17 and U-20 levels.
“We also had a lot of interactive discussions with the coaches and gave the coaches assignments based on the national teams they are assigned to.”
The following coaches attended the methodology workshop:
Pogiso Makhoye (North West)
Duncan Crowie (Western Cape)
Siyabulela Gwambi (Eastern Cape)
Thomas Nare (Gauteng)
Raymond Mdaka (Limpopo)
Donald Mojaki (Northern Cape)
Karabo Mogudi (Gauteng / USSA)
Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Gauteng)
Morne Crumpton (Western Cape)
David Nyathi (Mpumalanga)
Gideon Noge (North West)
Goodman Mazibuko (Free State)
Mark Mayambela (Western Cape)
Vela Khumalo (Free State)
Thabo Mngomeni (Western Cape)
Smuts Ndlovu (Kwazulu Natal)
Shuaib Walters (Gauteng)
Jeremy Wyngaard (Western Cape)