23 November 2023 – Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has named her final squad for the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Burkina Faso in the coming days.

The Sasol-sponsored South African senior women’s team face Burkina Faso away from home in the first leg on Thursday 30 November 2023 and then host the West Africans in the return match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville on Monday 4 December.

Ellis said she has faith and confidence in the players she has selected, and believes they will carry out the assignment in the two matches.

“We have to make sure that we do well, especially in the first game, so that we take the pressure off playing at home. We all know the pressure of playing at home and how difficult it can be for players. We will make sure that we have enough information on Burkina Faso,” she said.

Sasol’s Brand and Sponsorship Manager: Dean Somerset wished the selected players well and said they would continue to support the South African senior women’s team during their quest.

“Please know that the 30 000 Sasol employees and the entire country stands firmly behind you, ready to rally, cheer, and celebrate every step of the way. Your success is not just a personal triumph; it is a source of pride for every South African who takes joy in the accomplishments of our nation.

“I  would also like to take a moment to express our gratitude to Coach Desiree and the entire technical team. Your unwavering dedication and constant devotion to these players are nothing short of admirable,” said Somerset.

The team will assemble for camp on Sunday 26 November 2023 and then travel in the early hours of the morning on Monday 27 November.
They return to South Africa on December 2 and then host Burkina Faso in the return match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Monday 4 December.
Banyana Banyana 24-member Squad to face Burkina Faso.
Andile Dlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Kaylin Swart (JVW FC)
Katlego Moletsane (Royal AM)
Karabo Dhlamini (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Fikile Magama (UWC)
Faith Nokuthula (Blackburn Rovers)
Janine Van Wyk (JVW FC)
Lebohang Ramalepe (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Lonathemba Mhlongo (UWC)
Noko Matlou (SD Eibar)
Asanda Hadebe (Sunflower WFC)
Linda Motlhalo (Glasgow City)
Kholosa Biyana (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Sphumelele Shamase (UJ FC)
Amogelang Motau (UWC)
Thubelihle Shamase (UJ FC)
Nicole Michael (TS Galaxy)
Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)
Samkelisiwe Selana (TS Galaxy)
Jermaine Seoposenwe (C.F. Monterrey)
Noxolo Cesane (UWC)
Wendy Shongwe (University of Pretoria)
Hildah Magaia (Sejong Sportstoto WFC)
Thembi Kgatlana (Racing Louisville FC)