14 November 2022 – Banyana Banyana continue to reap the benefits of their hard work and this was evident when the Confederation of African Football (CAF) released the nominations for the 2023 CAF Awards on Tuesday. 

The nominees were selected based on performances between December 2022 and November 2023, and the Awards will be hosted in Morocco on 11 December 2023.

Coach Desiree Ellis’ Sasol-sponsored charges are the reigning champions of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations and made history at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup by becoming the first South African senior national team to make it past the group stages of a FIFA tournament. 

“A distinguished panel made up of CAF Technical Experts, Legends, and selected media representatives decided on the nominees, taking into consideration their performances at all levels from December 2022 to November 2023,” said CAF. 

Ellis is up for the coach of the year award, which she has claimed on three consecutive occasions (2018, 2019, and 2022). Six players are nominated for the Player of the year award, which has been previously won by Noko Matlou and Thembi Kgatlana in 2008 and 2018 respectively. 

CAF Awards 2023 nominations for South Africa:

National Team of the Year – South Africa (Banyana Banyana)

Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis

Goalkeeper of the Year – Andile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart

Young player of the Year – Thubelihle Shamase 

Interclub player of the Year – Lebohang Ramalepe 

Player of the year – Thembi Kgatlana, Hildah Magaia, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Refiloe Jane, Linda Motlhalo and Andile Dlamini. 

In other nominations for South African football, Bafana Bafana stars Percy Tau and Ronwen Williams were each nominated in two categories. Tau is part of the 30-man list for the Player of the Year and Interclub Player of the Year. Williams is nominated for Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year categories.

Kaizer Chiefs’ Ranga Chivaviro also made the cut for the Interclub Player of the Year category.

The Mamelodi Sundowns men’s and women’s teams are nominated under the team of the year category.