22 October 2023 – The University of Fort Hare achieved their greatest feat when they beat Lindelani Ladies 4-3 on penalties in the Sasol League National Championships final, to be crowned champions in their maiden National Play-offs.

The Eastern Cape side duly deserved the title as they were outstanding throughout the tournament, playing some enterprising football that saw them chalk some impressive wins in the process.

For their efforts, they walked away R200 000 richer, and the icing on the cake was gaining promotion into the Hollywoodbets Super League alongside defeated finalists Lindelani Ladies.

For their part, Lindelani Ladies walked away with R100 000 as runners up.

Official Hloniphila Msizane won the Referee of the Tournament, while Amogelang Msiza won assistant Referee of the tournament award.

Akhona Mkhize from Lindelani Ladies was named Young promising player of the Tournament.

Nomfundo Xulu of Lindelani Ladies walked away with the Diski Queen of the tournament award.

University of Fort Hare Goalkeeper Thabisa Baleni was crowned Goalkeeper of the tournament after her splendid performance throughout the tournament.

Lerato Ruele of Crouses Ladies walked away with the top goalscorers award after she scored four goals in the tournament.