10 March 2023 – National Under-17 coach Duncan Crowie has announced a list of players for a camp that will be used to select the final squad for the 2023 U-17 Africa Cup of Nations in Algeria in April.

Crowie’s charges will go into to camp on the 9 April 2023 and then the coach will announce his final AFCON-bound team on 15 April 23.

This year’s u17 AFCON tournament will be held in Algeria from 29 April to 19 May 2023 and South Africa are pitted against Nigeria, Morocco and Zambia in Group B.

Crowie recently conducted a selection camp at the SAFA National Technical Centre (Fun Valley) in the south of Johannesburg in February and he described the exercise as “a huge success”.

He ran the rule over several players as he continues his preparations and planning for this year’s Africa U-17 Cup of Nations. The camps are part of his preparations for the continental completion in Algeria and the coach believes they have been a hugely beneficial exercise.

# NAMES Club – Country
1 Takalani Mzhawana Kaizer Chiefs – RSA
2 Gennaro Johnson Cape Town Spurs – RSA
3 Kyle Jansen Atlanta United – USA
4 Xhosa Manyama Cape Town City – RSA
5 Gabriano Shelton Liverpool – ENGLAND
6 Keitumetsi Lesia Supersport United – RSA
7 Waylon Renecke Norwich – ENGLAND
8 Benjamin Wallace Supersport United – RSA
9 Bonginkosi Phala Getafe, SPAIN
10 Vincent Sithole Mamelodi Sundowns – RSA
11 Tyler Cecero Stellenbosch – RSA
12 Neo Rapoo Supersport United – RSA
13 Thato Sibiya Mamelodi Sundowns – RSA
14 Xolani Tshaka Orlando Pirates – RSA
15 Sfiso Timba Kaizer Chiefs – RSA
16 Gomolemo Kekana TS Galaxy – RSA
17 Vicky Mkhawana Kaizer Chiefs – RSA
18 Aphelele Mkhize Maritzburg United – RSA
19 Xavier Jodamus Ubuntu Academy – RSA
20 Thuto Mojanang Feyenoord – HOLLAND
21 Dhakier Lee Cape Town Spurs – RSA
22 Michael Dokumnu Vitesse – HOLLAND
23 Orifha Bright Naubelo Capital City – RSA
24 Bennet Mokoena Mamelodi Sundowns -RSA
25 Aaron Sloch Rydell Nordsjaelland – Denmark
26 Gabriel Amato Cape Town City – RSA
27 Lucas Jetten Ajax Amsterdam – HOLLAND
28 Tyrese Davids Supersport United – RSA
29 Ofentse Kgosana Kaizer Chiefs – RSA
30 Siyabonga Mabena Mamelodi Sundowns – RSA