16 August 2022– Banyana Banyana will now turn their focus to building a bigger pool of players and grooming the next generation of champions as they prepare for this year’s edition of the COSAFA Women’s Championships.

The SASOL-sponsored South African Senior National Women’s Team will be led by Coach Simphiwe Dludlu, but she will not have the players who won the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Morocco last month at her disposal. 

Coach Desiree Ellis and her regulars have other commitments elsewhere and Dludu has been appointed by the Association to guide a fringe Banyana Banyana side at this year’s COSAFA Women’s Championships scheduled for Port Elizabeth from 31 August 2022 to 11 September 2022.

Dludlu, who is the U17 National Women’s Head Coach, has called up an exiciting group of players who have come through the development ranks. Some players in her 23-member squad have donned the Banyana Banyana jersey before, some have U20 and U17 international caps, while a few others have raised their hand in the National Women’s League. They will all be eager to stake their claims and fight for a place in the national team set up.

“This is a very big opportunity afforded to me by the Association and the best Coach in Africa, Desiree Ellis. I am glad that I will get a platform to learn more while continuing to do the work I have done at U17 and U20 level, where we ensure that we have a big pool of players.

“I will be assisting Coach Desiree in expanding the pool of players for Banyana Banyana as they continue preparing for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup;” says Dludlu.

“I am excited for the players that we have selected, and the fact that these players will get to play against quality players within the COSAFA region.

“At the moment our region is excelling with two countries going to the FIFA Women’s World Cup. We have two clubs going to represent the region at the CAF Champions League, and this is a right time for us as South Africa to start introducing more players into Banyana Banyana,” concluded Dludlu.

South African has been drawn into Group A of the 2022 COSAFA Women’s Championships alongside Angola, Mauritius and Mozambique.

Group B will see tough competition between Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zambia, while Group C consists of reigning champions Tanzania, Comoros, Botswana and Malawi.

1. Kebotseng MOLETSANE   Bloemfontein Celtic (Free State)
2. Dineo MAGAGULA  University of Johannesburg FC (Gauteng)
3. Tshidi MURUOA TUT FC (Gauteng)
4. Fikile MAGAMA     UWC FC Cape (Western Cape)
5. Cimone SAULS JVW FC  (Gauteng)
6. Koketso TLAILANE   TUT FC (Gauteng)
7. Nothando VILAKAZI   TUT FC (Gauteng)
8. Tiisetso MAKHUBELA   Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
9. Lonathemba MHLONGO   UWC FC (Western Cape)
10. Thato LETSOSO   TUT FC (Gauteng)
12. Jamie- Leigh WITBOOI CR Vasco Da Gama Ladies (Western Cape)
13. Mmabatho MOGALE TUKS/High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
14. Sphumelele SHAMASE University of Johannesburg FC (Gauteng)
15. Oratile MOKWENA   Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
16. Nonhlanhla MTHANDI   Mamelodi University Ladies (Gauteng)
17. Sinazo NTSHOTA  City Lads Ladies (Eastern Cape)
18. Busisiwe NDIMENI TUT (Gauteng)
19. Lelona DAWETI   Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
20. Zethembiso VILAKAZI   Lindelani FC (KwaZulu Natal)
21. Michelle SAMPSON Richmond United Ladies (Northern Cape)
22. Amanda MKHIZE   Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)
23. Lithemba SAM   Cape Town Roses (Western Cape)