4 April 2022– The South African U-17 National Women’s Team (Bantwana) will report for camp on Friday, 8 April 2022 ahead of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup qualifiers against Ethiopia, with the first leg  scheduled for 15 April 2022 in Johannesburg.

Bantwana automatically progressed to the third round of qualifers after Kenya was suspended from football avtivities by FIFA last month. The South Africans will be looking to qualify for their third FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup [they qualified in 2010 and in 2018] which will be hosted in India after the previous one was postponed in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Bantwana Head Coach Simphiwe Dludlu selected 36 players during her last camp in March and has now called up 24 players for the upcoming qualifer.

Dludlu expressed her excitement at being able to get back onto the pitch with her team, but she is still  dissapointed that she was not able to play a competetive match in March.

“We love coming together and playing international football, and this week will be no different. We will continue building from our last training camp, and will be hoping that the players are still on the level we left them on,”says Dludlu.

“Although we managed to get a practice match against a local club in our last camp, I still feel it would have been better to play against another country. We will be hard at work in the coming week preparing for this qualifer match against Ethiopia, who we have been studying;”concluded Dludlu.

1. Shifaah HOOSSEN SAFA Academy (Western Cape)
2. Kgomotso MUSIMANGO   Kempton Park FC (Gauteng)
3. Casey GORDON JVW Ladies (Gauteng)
4. Mpho Dlamini   Kempton Park FC (Gauteng)
5. Portia MASILELA Springs Home Sweepers (Gauteng)
6. Adrielle MIBE  Wits Juniors (Gauteng)
7. Geneva JAFTHA  Vasco Da Gama (Western Cape)
8. Ntando PHAHLA  Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)
9. Motshegwe GOSITANG  University of Johannesburg (Gauteng)
10. Nonzuzo BUTHELEZI Edendale High School (KwaZulu Natal)
11. Kutlwano MAPHANE Mito Stars (Gauteng)
12. Kananelo TAIWE Richmond United (Northern Cape)
13. Mpho NKADIMENG High Performance Centre  (Gauteng)
14. Mmabatho MOGALE High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
15. Olwethu SOSIBO Edendale High School (KwaZulu Natal)
16. Resego MASIBI Tswelelang DE ‘Scorpion (North West)
17. Masabatha MOTHAPO Axias FC (Free State)
18. Daniella SEGALL University of Cape Town (Western Cape)
19. Sibongakonke MZOBE  Lindelani Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)
20. Nomphelo YAKUPHI Copperbelt Ladies (Limpopo)
21. Asanda MCHUNU Edendale High School (KwaZulu Natal)
22. Khutso MOGANO  High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
23. Gugu DHLAMINI High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
.24 Mothladi PONATSHEGO SAFA Frances Baard (Northern Cape))