13 October 2020 – All of SAFA’s 9 Provinces have come out in full support of the decision to declare the ABC Motsepe’s current log standings as final.
The SAFA NEC resolved that all 9 Provincial teams currently occupying position number one will proceed to the National play-offs to determine the two teams which will be promoted to the GladAfrica championships.
The teams proceeding to the draw on Thursday, 15 October 2020 at SAFA House are Bizana Pondo Chiefs (EC), Mangaung United (FS), Pretoria Callies (Gauteng), Umvoti FC (KZN), Mikhado FC (Limpopo), FC Mpumalanga United (Mpumalanga), Polokwane City Rovers (NW), Hungry Lions (NC), Zizwe United (WC).
There will be no relegation within the ABC Motsepe League in the 2019/2020 season and the provincial playoffs for promotion to the ABC Motsepe League will proceed which will result in 18 teams in each Province for the 2020/2021 season.
Western Cape SAFA Provincial Chair, Gerald Don said the SAFA NEC decision was after thorough consultations and under the circumstances, was the best option and outcome.
‘’The Covid-19 pandemic created unforeseen crisis and after consultations, we all unanimously agreed declaring the ABC Motsepe League as final. That was mature and decisive leadership,” said Don.
He was supported by Eastern Cape’s Mzi Fina who said only a few individuals would want to contest a straightforward decision.
‘’The coronavirus epidemic is not an annual thing and I think the NEC decision was a well thought decision which had the buy-in of progressive football stakeholders,’’ said Fina.
Kwenzakwakhe Ngwenya said KwaZulu-Natal Province was united in the decision taken by SAFA’s highest decision-making body, NEC.
‘’I have personally spoken to almost all of those involved and we are united and agreeable on the decision taken by the NEC. It was the right decision and arrived at after thorough deliberations. Even the KZN Province is supporting our team going to the play-offs,’’ said Ngwenya.
Mpumalanga’s Litheko Marago said there was no issue at all in his Province.
‘’We explained SAFA’s decision to all clubs involved and no one had issues with that decision. It was part of the Province’s consultations processes. Mpumalanga is united on this one,’’ said Marago.
Jack Maluleka said only the number two or three teams had issues but the Province had explained the rationale behind this decision. This was also the case in Gauteng and North West Provinces. Maluleka said all teams were happy except for one or two individuals whose motive was just to cause problems.
Letima Mogorosi, chairperson of Free State said all clubs had accepted the NEC decision as the best and in the interest of football.
Northern Cape’s Aubrey Baartman said his Province had always rallied behind national office’s outcomes. He said what made the situation easier in Northern Cape was the fact that it was the clubs themselves who had suggested this idea of calling off the league and declare the number one for national play offs.
‘’This was our clubs’ proposal all along and when the NEC took that decision, it was just ratifying our position,’’ said Baartman.
The draw of the ABC Motsepe play-offs will take place at SAFA House on Thursday at 11h00.

For further information please contact:

SAFA: Head of Communications
Dominic Chimhavi
Email: dominic.chimhavi@safa.net
Mobile: +27 71 332 9886