1 September 2019 – Bafana Bafana goalkeeper Darren Keet, as well as defender Thapelo Mokoena, have been withdrawn from the squad to face Zambia in an international friendly clash on Saturday, 7 September 2019.

Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns) is nursing an injury while Keet is finalizing his work permit in Belgium, which requires him to stay in that country until all the paperwork is done.

Riyaad Pieterse of Mamelodi Sundowns has been called up to replace Keet with Luckyboy Mokoena of Highlands Park getting his first call up to take the place of Mokoena.

The squad assembles tonight (Sunday, 1 September 2019) in Johannesburg, and departs for Zambia on Thursday, 5 September.

This will be Ntseki’s first match in charge following the resignation of head coach Stuart Baxter after the AFCON tournament.

South Africa is using this match to prepare for the upcoming back-to-back 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Ghana and Sudan to be played in November.

Bafana Bafana return to South Africa the day after the match (Sunday, 8 September).



1. Riyaad PIETERSE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
2. Ronwen WILLIAM Supersport United FC (SA)
3. Brandon PETERSEN Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
4. Erick MATHOHO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
5. Buhle MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. Luckyboy MOKOENA Highlands Park FC (SA)
8. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
9. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
10. Thato MOKEKE Cape Town City FC (SA)
11. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentfort FC (England)
12. Rivaldo COETZEE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
13. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
14. Lebohang PHIRI Guingamp FC (France)
15. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens FC (France)
16. Thembinkosi LORCH Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
17. Thulani SERERO Vitesse Arnhem FC (Netherlands)
18. Percy TAU Club Brugge FC (Belgium)
19. Lebohang MABOE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
20. Keagan DOLLY Montpellier FC (France)
21. Lebo MOTHIBA Strasbourg FC (France)
22. Bradley GROBLER Supersport United FC (SA)
23. Kermit ERASMUS Cape Town City FC (SA)