6 August 2019 – FIFA has revealed the shortlisted candidates for four of the individual trophies that will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ ceremony at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan on 23 September 2019.

Two panels of experts – one for men’s football and one for women’s football – named the ten candidates for each category. They are listed below in alphabetical order:

Public voting is already open on FIFA.com until 19 August

The Best FIFA Men’s Player:

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus)
  • Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands/Ajax/FC Barcelona)
  • Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands/Ajax/Juventus)
  • Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea/Real Madrid)
  • Harry Kane (England/Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Sadio Mané (Senegal/Liverpool)
  • Kylian Mbappé (France/aris Saint-Germain)
  • Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)
  • Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands/Liverpool)


The Best FIFA Women’s Player*:

  • Lucy Bronze (England/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago Red Stars)
  • Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway/Wolfsburg/Barcelona)
  • Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Amandine Henry (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia/Chicago Red Stars/Perth Glory)
  • Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington Spirit)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)
  • Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando Pride)
  • Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)
  • Wendie Renard (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Ellen White (England/Birmingham City/Manchester City)

* The shortlist comprises 12 names since, per article 5 of the Rules of Allocation, in the event of a tie, “the shortlist may be expanded to include all nominees receiving the same number of votes as the nominee in the last position.”


The Best FIFA Men’s Coach:

  • Djamel Belmadi (Algeria/Algeria national team)
  • Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)
  • Marcelo Gallardo (Argentina/River Plate)
  • Ricardo Gareca (Argentina/Peru national team)
  • Pep Guardiola (Spain/Manchester City)
  • Jurgen Klopp (Germany/Liverpool)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Argentina/Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Fernando Santos (Portugal/Portugal national team)
  • Erik ten Hag (Netherlands/Ajax)
  • Tite (Brazil/Brazil national team)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

  • Milena Bertolini (Italy/Italy national team)
  • Jill Ellis (USA/USA national team)
  • Peter Gerhardsson (Sweden/Sweden national team)
  • Futoshi Ikeda (Japan/Japan U-20 national team)
  • Antonia “Toña” Is (Spain/Spain U/17 national team)
  • Joe Montemurro (Australia/Arsenal)
  • Phil Neville (England/England national team)
  • Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Paul Riley (England/North Carolina Courage)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)


The winners of the four categories mentioned above will be chosen by a process involving the game’s key stakeholders:

  • 25% of the result based on votes by captains of all national teams
  • 25% based on votes by head coaches of all national teams
  • 25% based on votes by a selected group of media representatives from around the world
  • 25% based on a public fan ballot on FIFA.com

Public voting is already open on FIFA.com and will be available until 19 August 2019 (midnight CET).

FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the Best FIFA Goalkeeper awards for both men and women – early in September.

For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see their respective rules of allocation.

To keep up with the latest news about The Best, check FIFA.com/the-best-fifa-football-awards, facebook.com/fifafootballawards and FIFA on YouTube.

You can join the discussion about who should win this year’s prizes by using the hashtag #TheBest.

(source: FIFA.com)