11 March 2019 – Head coach of the South African U-23 National Team, David Notoane, has named the squad to prepare for the upcoming CAF first round Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualifier against Angola.

South Africa was one of the few countries on the continent that was given a bye in the preliminary round and will battle it out with Angola to determine who plays either Zimbabwe or eSwatini/Mozambique in the second round.

The winner of the second round will qualify for the CAF 8-Nations tournament scheduled for Egypt in November this year in which the three top teams from that tournament automatically earn a berth at the Olympics in 2020.

The first leg against Angola will take place in Luanda on 22 March, with the return leg scheduled for Milpark Stadium in Johannesburg on 26 March 2019.

South Africa has already been to the Sidney 2000 and Rio 2016 Olympic Games – under the mentorship of Shakes Mashaba and Owen Da Gama respectively.





1 Mondli MPOTO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
2 Darren JOHNSON Ajax Town FC (SA)
3 Khulekani KUBHEKA Cape  Umoya FC (SA
4 Thendo MUKUMELA Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
5 Keanu CUPIDO Cape Town City FC (SA)
6 Siyabonga NGEZANA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
7 Reeve FROSLER Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
8 Kabelo  SERIBA FC Metta (LATVIA)
9 Katleho MOHAMME Supersport United FC (SA)
10 Sbusiso MABILISO Amazulu FC (SA)
11 Sandile MTHETHWA Richards Bay FC (SA)
12 Nikola TAVARES Crystal Palace FC (ENGLAND)
13 Given MSIMANGO Highlands Park FC (SA)
14 Teboho MOKOENA Supersport United FC (SA)
15 Athenkosi DLALA Supersport United FC (SA)
16 Tercious MALEPE Chippa United FC  (SA)
17 Gift LINKS Cape Town FC (SA)
18 Fagrie LAKAY  Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
19 Kamohelo MAHLATSI Supersport United FC (SA)
20 Grant MAGERMAN Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
21 Jamie WEBBER Supersport United FC (SA)
22 Thabo CELE Lova da Piedade FC (PORTUGAL)
23 Luther SINGH GD Chaves FC (PORTUGAL)
24 Phakamani MAHLAMBI Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
25 Lyle  FOSTER AS Monaco FC (FRANCE)
27 Jemondre DICKENS Baroka FC (SA)
28 Keletso MAKGALWA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)