03 December 2018- The Media Launch of one of the biggest Festive Season soccer tournaments, the popular KwaMahlobo Games, sponsored by LaLiga, will take place this coming Thursday 6 December 2018 at Sedebeng Pub & Restaurant in Meadowlands Zone 10, Soweto.

The launch and the draw will take place at 11h00 and will be attended by famous football luminaries that include Doctor Khumalo and Sibusiso Vilakazi as well as LaLiga’s Africa Director, Antonio Barradas.

The 2018/19 KwaMahlobo Games which will be the 23rdEdition of this popular tournament, will kick off on 19 December 2018 and will run until 5 January 2019 when the new champions will be crowned.

The KwaMahlobo Games have produced some of the country’s top players and coaches namely Rhulani Mokoena who is the current Orlando Pirates assistant coach, Abel Mabaso, Xola Mlambo, Zitha Matsheke, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Sibusiso Vilakazi and Linda Mambo among others.

Tournament founder and director, Patrick Ntenjwa said this year’s event is set to be bigger and better, more so with partners like City of Johannesburg and Gauteng Department of Sports and Recreation also coming on board.

A total of 40 teams will go into the draw on Thursday in which the ultimate winner will walk away with a staggering R120 000 plus a glittering trophy while the runners up will pocket R50 000. The third and fourth placed teams will each receive R15 000.

LaLiga’s Africa Director, Barradas said they were excited to be part of this popular tournament, he said he was looking forward to the 2018/19 Edition of the KwaMahlobo Games.

“As LaLiga, we are happy to be involved with these Games whose core aim is to entertain, develop and nurture talent at grassroots level. These games which are played over the Festive Season, draw thousands of spectators and we expect another bumper crowd this year,” said Barradas.

These are the Teams that will go into the draw on Thursday:

Soweto Super United, Ngwato All Stars, Braamfisher City, Izinja ZeGame, Meadowlands Professionals, Mambas FC, Mantari FC, Chipolopolo FC, Mzimhlophe Porto, A To Z FC, Meadowlands All Stars, Meadowlands Liverpool, FC Msweko, Meadowlands Harmony FC, Meadowlands Black Rangers, Braamfisher Eagles, Meadowlands Juventus, Meadowlands Rangers, Overbility Academy,  Guptar FC, Tsepisong All Stars, Lightning FC, Meadowlands Academy, Gama United, Galaticos FC, Snake Park, Amajananda FC, Mathaithayi FC, Abashumayeli FC, Mogale City FC, Shake Everyday, Halftime Managements, Doornkoop Student, BKM FC, Vilakazi Football Academy, LNB Tax FC, Super Black Heroes, Ngulube FC, Boys United, Sour Eleven.