28 September 2018 – The University of Western Cape was forced to abandon its dreams of winning the Varsity Women’s Football competition, when a highly dominant TUT Red Machine side sneaked two goals in the dying minutes, to secure their fifth trophy with a humbling 2-1 score line.

The two sides met in a highly competitive clash where both sides went head to head in all departments in the first half, creating adequate opportunities but failing in front of goal. The match went to half time with nothing separating them at 0-0.

The second half started on a high tempo, which was a clear indication that both coaches were demanding more aggression and goals from their players. It was the ladies from the Mother City who scored first 38 minutes into the match through Khanya Xesi, who scored from the penalty spot after a lousy foul from TUT’s skipper Jabulile Mazibuko. Minutes later TUT was given a golden opportunity to level the scores after UWC’s Antonia Maponya fouled Rachel Sebati inside the box but Kgomotso Mashilwane’s shot went way off target.

Just five minutes later UWC committed another foul just outside the box, but Hilda Magalia’s shot hit the cross bar. When everyone thought UWC would get their first Varsity Football trophy, Hilda finished a well-placed cross from Khomotso Kwinana just 10 minutes before the game ended. The Cape Town-based ladies thought they could try again in penalties, but it was Rachel Sebati who came to finish a rebound from a shot that was fired by Khomotso Kwinana, forcing UWC to abandon all their hopes of winning the competition this year.

In a post-match interview Captain Jabulile said, they always knew that the tournament would not be easy, but they stuck to their game plan and did not deviate. She said their coach was clear that they should follow the game plan and not fall into the trap of criticizing one another and that’s exactly what they did.

“It’s hard luck for UWC, they are a good side but unfortunately they will need to go back to the drawing board. This is my last game in the Varsity Football competition and I am super happy with the win, all the compliments need to go to our coach for all the work he’s put in,” she said.

Meanwhile the Red Machine’s goal scoring machine, Hilda said she is glad and very excited that they won this match and competition. “Although it seemed bit shaky ultimately I’m grateful that our teamwork came through for us,” Hilda said

According to Tebogo Mokae, the teams coach, this was a good final and both teams deserved to be in it. He said it wasn’t easy because both sides were quite technical but his side got more chances than their opponents yet failed to capitalise early.

“They got one chance through a penalty and scored. We came back from behind to win the final in the dying minutes. The standard of women’s football is improving day by day looking at the score margins, it was not easy as before, any team could have made it. Thank you Varsity Sports for taking care of women’s football in the country,” Tebogo said.

Kegoikantse Kgomo, senior sport organiser said, as the football office they are over the moon that they have won the Varsity Women’s Football edition for a record fifth time out of six appearances in the final.

“Congratulations to the Coach Tebogo Mokae, his entire tech team and most importantly the team, the players themselves led by captain Jabulile Mazibuko. Thank you to Varsity Sports and it’s sponsors as well USSA Football for making sure university sport is well taken care of.”

Shadrack Nthangeni, the Director of Sport and Recreation said, the ladies football team proved beyond reasonable doubt why they are the champs and why they have featured in all past six finals.

“They continue to market the TUT brand positively through their dominance in women’s football in the country.  I sincerely appreciate the tremendous work done by the Football office, the technical team and the players,” Shadrack added.

TUT: 2
Hilda Magali, Rachel Sebati
UWC: 1
Khanya Xesi

FNB Player of the Tournament: Bongeka Gamede (UWC)
Debonairs Real Deal Saver of the Tournament: Mpho Monangwe (TUT)
Samsung Striker of the Tournament: Amanda Mtandi (UJ)