2 March 2018 – Head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana, Desiree Ellis, has made five changes to the squad that will face Hungary in the second match of the Cyprus Women’s Cup that is currently underway.

South Africa played to a goalless draw against Slovakia in the opening fixture.

Banyana Banyana and Hungary meet tonight (Friday, 2 March 2018) at Tasos Markos Stadium in Paralimni.

Kickoff is at 18h00.

Ellis has brought in Roxanne Barker in place of Andile Dlamini in goals.

The defence remains intact – marshaled by captain Janine van Wyk alongside Bambanani Mbane in the centre. Lebohang Ramalepe and Nothando Vilakazi are the fullbacks.

Rachel Sebati gets the nod in the middle of the park ahead of Linda Motlhalo, and will be assisted by Refiloe Jane.

Kgaelebane Mohlakoana, who made her debut against Slovakia, will run on the right wing, while Thembi Kgatlana has made a positional switch and will be on the left wing. Mohlakoana and Kgatlana replace Jermaine Seoposenwe and Leandra Smeda respectively.

Going in search of goals will be Sduduzo Dlamini and Melinda Kgadiete – both earned their first caps in the clash against Sweden two months ago in Cape Town.

Dlamini comes in for Chantelle Esau, while Kgadiete will occupy the position vacated by Kgatlana.

Following their goalless draw against Slovakia, Banyana Banyana are third in Group C with one point.

Korea DPR is leading the pack with three points after they defeated Hungary 2-0 in their opening clash.

Banyana Banyana starting 11 vs Hungary

Roxanne Barker (GK), Lebohang Ramalepe, Nothando Vilakazi, Bambanani Mbane, Janine van Wyk (c), Rachel Sebati, Refiloe Jane, Kgaelebane Mohlakoana, Thembi Kgatlana, Melinda Kgadiete, Sduduzo Dlamini


Andile Dlamini (GK), Kaylin Swart (GK), Noko Matlou, Zanele Nhlapho, Regina Mogolola, Nompumelelo Nyandeni, Linda Motlhalo, Leandra Smeda, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Chantelle Esau

Coach: Desiree Ellis