7 December 2017 – The South African U20 Men’s national team kicked off their COSAFA Cup campaign with an impressive 2-0 victory over Mauritius in their opening match of group B on Thursday, 7 December at the Nikana Stadium in Kitwe, Zambia.

Two second half goals by Orlando Pirates striker, Lyle Foster ensured Amajita get the confidence boosting victory before their next group B encounter against Mozambique.

Both teams started off on a low when heavy rain accompanied the kick off,  thus making the openingt 20 minutes rather miserable..

Mauritius contained South Africa for much of the first half, as they missed countless goal scoring opportunities and went into the half time break with the goalless draw.

Amajita head coach, Thabo Senong came into the second half with a more attacking mind as Lyle Foster was brought in for Katlego Ntsabeleng. He managed to match the height of the opponent and found the opening goal in the 73rd minute of the match, after a powerful shot bounced off the inner of the cross bar.

The ever hard working Luvuyo Mkatshana was then taken off in the 89th minute when Patrick Maswanganyi came onto the pitch to bring more of the attack.

Foster got his brace in the dying seconds of the match with a sterling goal, to give South Africa the win.

“Our focus is now on our next match, we are happy for the win however; there is no time to dwell on it. We start our preparations for Mozambique tonight, which will be another tough task ahead of us”said Senong.

South Africa will now face a wounded Mozambique in their second match of group B on Saturday, 9 November 2017.

South African starting XI: Khulekani Kubheka (GK); Sibusiso Mabiliso; Kamohelo Sambo; Thendo Mukumela (c); Keanu Cupido; Thabani Zuke; Nkosingiphile Ngcobo; George Matlou; Katlego Ntshabeleng (Foster 46’); Happy Mashiane; Luvuyo Mkatshana (Maswanganyi 89’)

South Africa substitutions: Sanele Tshabalala; Renaldo Leaner; Kiyaam Bull; Malebogo Modise; Bradley Cross; Patrick Maswanganyi; Sifundo Sibiya; Siphumelele Mbulu; Lyle Foster

Mauritius starting XI: Pierre Figaro (GK); Guillaume Vielleuse; Jean Jolicoeur; Louis Jackson; Guilan Collet; Jean Sarah; Cooper Legrand; Jean Patate; Alex Jason Ferre (C ); Terence Perrot; James Sophie

Mauritian substitutions: Jean Antoine; Marcus Dimanche; Adrien Francois; Aurelien Perle; Owen Rabot (GK); Ludovic Milazar; Adriano Chiu Ching Fat; Yoan Perticot; Jean Georges (GK)