17 November 2017 – The fourth edition of the National Futsal League, hosted by the South African Indoor Football Association (SAIFA), is set to reach new heights in the 2017/2018 season.

The launch of the competition took place on Friday, 17 November 2017 in Johannesburg.

The league is run in partnership with the 2010 FIFA World Cup Legacy Trust under the auspices of the South African Football Association (SAFA) and features seven franchises from around the country.

“We are indeed grateful to SAFA and the 2010 FIFA World Cup Legacy Trust for the grant given to us to run the league. This is evident of SAFA’s commitment to the development and growth of Futsal in our country” said Poobalan Govindasamy – SAIFA President.

“All seven clubs in the league have shown tremendous desire over the past three seasons. We are very excited to see how this season’s competition unfolds,” said Ebrahim Hossen – SAIFA Secretary General.

“The standard and level of play has increased significantly since our first season. So much so that it is difficult to predict a league winner,” added Hossen.

While SAIFA is ready to host the National Futsal League for a fourth year in a row, it began administrating the game back in 2002.

“We ran regional leagues due to a lack of funding in the past. We have adopted a similar model to countries like Brazil, Portugal and Spain, we are committed to taking the game to the next level,” said Hossen.

“The manner in which teams are run is very important to us. Their hard work off the field is evident once the players get onto the Futsal court.”

“Futsal is growing at an alarming pace and I have watched some of the National Futsal League matches and can confirm that we have talented footballers playing Futsal. All they need is our support,” said Dennis Mumble – SAFA CEO.

The first match of the season will see Tshwane City host OBC Chicken at the Orlando Community Hall and is set to kick-off at 19h30 on Friday, 17 November 2017.

The season will conclude in July 2018.

EThekwini City are the defending champions after winning the 2016/17-league season. They won all 12 of their matches, amassing 36 points. Second place went to Young Natalians (13 points adrift), followed by Maritzburg Hotspur on 22 points.

Please note:

  • SAIFA is an affiliate of the South African Football Association (SAFA)
  • The National Futsal League features seven teams from around the country
  • KwaZulu-Natal: Maritzburg Hotspurs, eThekwini City, Young Natalians
  • Western Cape: Cape Town Titans, Western Province Eagles
  • Free State: OBC Chickens
  • Gauteng: Tshwane City

For this season’s fixture, click here

For last season’s log standings, click here