19 August 2017 – Bafana Bafana assistant coach Thabo Senong has announced his starting eleven, which includes three debutants, for the second leg 2018 CHAN qualifier against Zambia.

The encounter takes place this afternoon (Saturday, 19 August 2017) at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola, Zambia.

Kickoff is at 15h00.

Senong has made six changes to the squad that played 2-2 in the first leg a week ago (Saturday, 12 August 2017) at the Buffalo City Stadium in East London.

Goalkeeper Bruce Bvuma retains his place in goals.

The rearguard sees three changes, where debutants Kgotso Moleko and Roscoe Pietersen have been included.

Moleko is in for Asavela Mbekile (who was withdrawn from the squad due to a family bereavement) at right back, while Pietersen replaces Sandile Mthethwa who was recalled by his new club Richards Bay FC.

Sibusiso Khumalo returns to the national team fold after a long absence and takes the place of the suspended Tercious Malepe at left back.

The ever-present Mario Booysen will captain the side as he gets his seventh start in succession since the COSAFA Cup, and will partner with Pietersen in the heart of defence.

Linda Mntambo, who will also earn his first cap, slots in midfield where he will operate with Sibusiso Kumalo, who has recovered from his injuries, as well as Jabulani Shongwe.

The trio of Dumisani Zuma, Siphelele Ntshangase and Bonginkosi Ntuli, will be expected to provide the much-needed goals to give South Africa victory.

With the score tied at 2-2 before the start of the second leg, Zambia will be declared winners if the match ends that way, and qualify for the 2018 CHAN tournament in Kenya.

A 1-1 draw or even an outright win will work in their favour.

South Africa’s only chance of qualifying for the tournament in Kenya early next year will be a win or a 3-3 draw or 4-4 and more, as they would have scored more away goals.

Should there be no victor, that’s if the match ends 2-2 today, there will be no extra time but a penalty shootout will ensue to determine the winner.

Here’s how they will line-up:

South Africa XI vs Zambia 2nd Leg:

Bruce Bvuma (GK), Kgotso Moleko, Sibusiso Khumalo, Mario Booysen (c), Roscoe Pietersen, Linda Mntambo, Sibusiso Kumalo, Jabulani Shongwe, Dumisani Zuma, Siphelele Ntshangase, Bonginkosi Ntuli


Steven Hoffman, Malebogo Modise, Ricardo Ndiki, Masilake Phohlongo, Wiseman Meyiwa, Jamie Webber, Tshegofatso Mabasa

Coach: Thabo Senong