7 July 2017 – Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has announced the starting eleven to face Namibia in the COSAFA Castle Cup Plate final and made three changes to the team that defeated Botswana 2-0.

South Africa and Namibia face off tonight (Friday, 7 July 2017) at the Moruleng Stadium at 17h00.

Goalkeeper Boalefa Pule returns to goal to earn his second cap in place of Bruce Bvuma.

Thendo Mukumela and Mario Booysen start their third match in a row at right back and central defence respectively, while Tercious Malepe retains his place at right back with Lorenzo Gordinho making a return alongside Booysen after missing the Botswana match.

Mothobi Mvala has made a positional switch and will operate in the middle of the park with captain Lehlogonolo Masalesa.

Wingers Riyaad Norodien and Nduduzo Sibiya keep their places, so does forward Mohau Mokate while Judas Moseamedi returns to the starting lineup – he came on as a second half substitute and scored the second goal against Botswana.

Mukumela, Booysen and Norodien are the only three players to have started all three matches in the COSAFA Castle Cup, while goalkeeper Darren Johnson, defender Sandile Mthethwa and midfielder Sibongakonke Mbatha are yet to play in this tournament.

Bvuma, Thabo Cele and Lebohang Maboe – who all made the starting line-up in the victory over Botswana – will start on the bench.

In the event of no winner after the regulation 90 minutes, extra time will be played. If there is still no winner, a penalty shootout will be used to decide the victors.

This is how they will line up:

Bafana Bafana XI vs Namibia

Boalefa Pule (GK), Tercious Malepe, Mario Booysen, Lorenzo Gordinho, Mothobi Mvala, Thendo Mukumela, Lehlogonolo Masalesa (C), Riyaad Norodien, Mohau Mokate, Nduduzo Sibiya, Judas Moseamedi


Bruce Bvuma (GK), Darren Johnson (GK), Sandile Mthethwa, Sibongakonke Mbatha, Jamie Webber, Liam Jordan, Innocent Maela, Thabo Cele, Lebogang Maboe