2 July 2017 – An 18th minute goal by Elias Maguri saw Bafana Bafana lose the quarter-final COSAFA Cup match against guest team Tanzania played at Royal Bafokeng Stadium on Sunday.

Starting the match from the quarter-final stage as defending champions, the hosts fielded mostly fringe players and much as they struggled to break down the Taifa Stars of Tanzania, put up a good fight but lacked cohesion upfront.

Liam Jordan was the first to test Aishi Manula in goals for Taifa Stars but his low shot found no takers as the hosts pressed for an early goal.

The visitors didn’t sit back and threatened with some swift counter attacks which however, failed to trouble Boalefa Pule in the initial stages.

Elias Maguri then gave the Tanzanians the lead when his angled shot beat a badly positioned Pule on the 18th minute.

South Africa then woke up from the slumber but the final product always looked incomplete as the youthful side tried to conjure up something. But in pouring forward, there was always the risk of leaving gaps at the back which the East Africans exploited to their advantage.

The home team then camped in Tanzania’s half in the second half but still lacked the cutting edge as they pumped long balls forward trying to breach the Taifa Stars defence. But on few occasions, the visitors could have capitalised on gaps South Africa left at the back.

Jamie Webber then fired a long range shot that just missed the target but centimetres as the young Bafana Bafana threatened in the dying minutes.

Gordinho could have equalised in the dying minutes but side-kicked an easy chance over the bar. That summed up Bafana Bafana’s bad day in the office as the referee blew the final whistle moments later.

South Africa X1: Boalefa Pule, Frances Maela, Mario Booysen, Riyaad Norodien, Lehlogonolo Masalesa (c), Judas Moseamedi, Cole Alexander, Thendo Mukumela, Liam Jordan, Jamie Webber, Lorenzo Gordinho

Tanzania X1: Aishi Manula, Gadiel Kamagi, Erasto Nyoni, Salim Mbonde, Himid Mkami (c), Elias Muguri, Thomas Ulimwengu, Raphael Loth, Yahya Ramadhani, Mzamiru Said, Shomari Kapombe