Two ABC Motsepe League clubs booked their spot in the Nedbank Cup Last 16, after eliminating Absa Premiership clubs over the weekend.

The biggest shock of the round took place at the Kabokweni Stadium as Mpumalanga’s Acornbush United defeated high-flying Cape Town City 1-0 on Sunday afternoon.

City included a number of their stars for the encounter, with Lebogang Manyama, Aubrey Ngoma and Judas Moseamedi all featuring, although that wasn’t enough to see off a determined Acornbush.

Another giant-killing took place at the Sugu Ray Xulu Stadium, where KwaDukuza United eliminated Ajax Cape Town on penalties.

The clash ended 2-2 after 120 minutes of football, forcing the encounter into a penalty shoot-out, where Kwadukuza held their nerve to triumph 4-3 in the shoot-out and sent the top flight outfit packing.

Elsewhere, ABC Motsepe League side EC Bees held their own against Orlando Pirates but suffered a 3-1 loss on Sunday afternoon.

Bongani Chikile netted Bees’ only goal of the game, although they were much better than the scoreline suggested and pushed the Soweto giants to their limits.

ABC Motsepe League outfit, Buya Msuthu put up a good show at the Moruleng Stadium, but ultimately lost 2-0 to Absa Premiership club, Bloemfontein Celtic.

while, SAB League outfit Days FC had a day to forget, as they were thumped 5-2 by Mbombela United, before United Rovers lost 3-0 to Jomo Cosmos on Saturday.

Selected Nedbank Cup Results:

Mamelodi Sundowns 2-0 Mariveni United

Polokwane City 3-1 African All Stars

Buya Msuthu 0-2 Bloemfontein Celtic

Jomo Cosmos 3-0 United Rovers

EC Bees 1-3 Orlando Pirates

Acornbush United 1-0 Cape Town City

Days FC 2-5 Mbombela United