12 September 2016



<u>www.safa.net</u> Twitter (safa\_net)

:	All SAFA Members
	SAFA NEC Members
	DBE and SRSA
	:

FROM : Chief Executive Officer

## RE : SAFA SCHOOLS FOOTBALL PROGRAMME – UPDATES August 2016

Dear Colleagues,

We are pleased to provide you with this update on developments in the SAFA Schools Football Programme:

## 1. <u>The National Schools Sports Championships (U13 & U17 Boys and Girls):</u>

The National Schools Sports Championships took place on the 09 – 15 July 2016 in KwaZulu-Natal.

- a. We congratulate the Western Cape for dominating in most sections of the football competition in the Championships. (*All the final results are attached*)
- b. 10 players were identified for a Ministerial bursary. Their names will be circulated once Sport and Recreation South Africa (SRSA) has ratified these names.
- c. There were 6 players from this Championship who were called up to the SA U17 National Team that participated in the CAF Qualifiers against Tanzania. These players are as follows:
  - i. Jaqueel De Jager (WC)
  - ii. Bonga Dladla(WC)
  - iii. Luke Le Roux(WC)
  - iv. Lina Mchilizeli (WC)
  - v. Ndamolelo Radzilani(GP)
  - vi. Sifundo Nkosi (KZN)

## 2. SAFA and SASFA Matter at the Johannesburg High Court

As you may be aware, our former Member, the South African Schools Football Association (SASFA), took the Association to court in April 2016 as they disagreed with the provisions of the SAFA Statutes, Rules and Regulations, which allows the Association to appoint an Arbitrator in the event that parties to a dispute cannot agree on one nominee from a list of 3 proposed arbitrators. Below are the steps of what has transpired thus far:

a. When the matter was argued in the Johannesburg High Court in April this year, the matter of SASFA's termination was never argued before the court. The only relief sought by SASFA's lawyers was a referral of the dispute to a "neutral" Arbitrator appointed by the Johannesburg Bar Council;

Danny JORDAAN (President), Elvis SHISHANA (VP), Irvin KHOZA (VP), Lucas NHLAPO (VP), Dennis A. MUMBLE (CEO/General Secretary) <u>National List Members</u>: Truman PRINCE, Nomsa MAHLANGU, Aubrey BAARTMAN, Poobalan GOVINDASAMY, Gladwin WHITE, Xolile NKOMPELA, Ria LEDWABA, Anastasia TSICHLAS, Norman ARENDSE. Kwenzakwakhe NGWENYA

Provincial List Members: David BANTU, Peter MANCHONYANE, Mzimkhulu NDLELO, Mzimkhulu FINA, Letima MOGOROSI, Mzwandile MAFORVANE, Abel RAKOMA, Jack MALULEKE, Velaphi KUBEKA, Simphiwe XABA, William MOOKA, Anthony REEVES, David ZULU, Thamsanqa MOKOENA, Gerald DON, Mlungisi BUSHWANA, Paseka NKONE, Monde MONTSHIWA League Members: Mato MADLALA. Stanley MATTHEWS. Kaizer MOTAUNG

Honorary Members: Molefi OLIPHANT (Honorary Life President), Lesole GADINABOKAO (Honorary President, Motebang MOSESE (Honarary Member), Obakeng MOLATEDI (Honorary Member)

- b. The Acting Judge's unsigned order was given on 4 July 2016. It stated inter alia that the SAFA decision to terminate SASFA was unlawful! We were shocked, and I'm sure so were SASFA's lawyers because it was never argued before the Acting Judge! After several attempts to get the signed, official order, SAFA's attorneys managed to retrieve the order only on 29 July 2016;
- c. Subsequently, after the signed order was obtained on 29 July 2016, SAFA lodged an application for leave to appeal, a copy of which is annexed hereto. In terms of South African law, the effect of lodging an appeal is to suspend any order or judgement pending the outcome of the appeal.

Accordingly, SAFA's decision of March 2015 and September 2015 to take over schools football still stands. Members are advised to proceed with integration of schools football into their structures as SASFA did not organise leagues or competitions in most of the targeted 24,000 schools around the country and can therefore not lay claim to jurisdiction in these areas.

## 3. <u>The Kay Motsepe Schools Cup:</u>

The 2016 Kay Motsepe Schools Cup has had 6 Provincial Finals that have taken place. We would like to thank the SAFA Regions, LFAs and the Provincial structures for their support in delivering these Provincial Finals without any major hitches. The teams that have qualified for the National Finals from each province are listed below, with one Province still to determine its winner:

- a. Northern Cape AJ Ferreira and Lanberg High School
- b. North West Tshedimosetso Secondary School and Gaopalelwe Secondary School
- c. Free State Dr Reginald Cingo Secondary School and Harmony Secondary School
- d. Limpopo Hasani Mninginisi Secondary School and Benny's Care
- e. Mpumalanga Bondzeni Secondary School and Sikhulile Secondary School
- f. Gauteng Rosina Sedibane and Clapham High School
- g. KZN Glenwood High School and Sekusile High School
- h. Eastern Cape Ncedo Senior Secondary School and Charles Morgan High School.

The Western Cape Provincial Final will be held on 17th September 2016 in Mossel Bay and the National Finals will be hosted in Gauteng from 03 – 08 October 2016.

Should you have any further questions regarding SAFA's schools football programme, we ask that you please contact Mr Dennis Tshabalala (<u>dennis.tshabalala@safa.net</u>) or Mr Thomas Sadiki (<u>thomas.sadiki@safa.net</u>).

We thank you kindly for your attention.

Sincerely,

Jul

MR DENNIS A. MUMBLE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Danny JORDAAN (President), Elvis SHISHANA (VP), Irvin KHOZA (VP), Lucas NHLAPO (VP), Dennis A. MUMBLE (CEO/General Secretary) <u>National List Members</u>: Truman PRINCE, Nomsa MAHLANGU, Aubrey BAARTMAN, Poobalan GOVINDASAMY, Gladwin WHITE, Xolile NKOMPELA, Ria LEDWABA, Anastasia TSICHLAS, Norman ARENDSE. Kwenzakwakhe NGWENYA

Provincial List Members: David BANTU, Peter MANCHONYANE, Mzimkhulu NDLELO, Mzimkhulu FINA, Letima MOGOROSI, Mzwandile MAFORVANE, Abel RAKOMA, Jack MALULEKE, Velaphi KUBEKA, Simphiwe XABA, William MOOKA, Anthony REEVES, David ZULU, Thamsanqa MOKOENA, Gerald DON, Mlungisi BUSHWANA, Paseka NKONE, Monde MONTSHIWA League Members: Mato MADLALA. Stanley MATTHEWS. Kaizer MOTAUNG

Honorary Members: Molefi OLIPHANT (Honorary Life President), Lesole GADINABOKAO (Honorary President, Motebang MOSESE (Honarary Member), Obakeng MOLATEDI (Honorary Member)