5 June 2023 – It’s all systems go ahead of the 2023 ABC Motsepe National Playoff which takes place at the Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg from 6-11 June 2023. The two finalists will gain promotion to the National First Division, the Motsepe League Championship for the 2023/2024 season.

The official draw for the play offs were held last week in Johannesburg and there have been two changes since then, as the Free State announced their provincial winner last Wednesday.

FC Buffalo were crowned Free State champions and will represent the province at the national playoffs, while Western Cape will be represented by Young Bafana after numerous court cases that ultimately ruled in their favour.

Gauteng’s Dondol Stars were drawn top of Group A alongside Umsinga United of KwaZulu Natal and Free States’s FC Buffalo.  

Group B will be made up of coastal sides Amavarara FC from the Eastern Cape, Western Cape’s Young Bafana and Upington City from Northern Cape.

Group C is dominated by clubs from the Inland Provinces as Orbit College from North West drew top of the group alongside Mpumalanga’s Mlambo Royal Cubs and Mpheni Home Defenders from Limpopo.

All group stage matches will be livestreamed on the SAFA Facebook page.

The semi-finals will be played on Friday 9 June 2023 at Harry Gwala Stadium with the final pencilled for the same venue on 11 June 2023.

These matches will be broadcast live on SABC Sport and SABC 1.