18 April 2023 – South African under-17 national team coach Duncan Crowie has announced a 21-man squad that will represent the country at the 2023 Under-17 Africa Cup of Nations in Algeria from 29 April – 19 May 2023.

The team went into camp on 9 April 2023 with 28 players at the SAFA National Technical Centre (Fun Valley) before the coach announced his final 21 on Tuesday (18 April 2023).

Speaking at a Press Conference held at  SAFA House on Tuesday afternoon, the coach  said his charges are not going to Algeria to add numbers.

“My primary job today is just to announce the final 21-man squad. When we met on Sunday we could see that commonality between the overseas-based players and the local-based players, and that gave me hope towards selecting this team,” said the coach.

“No one in the preparation camp was a bad player. Everyone was a talented player, but unfortunately we had to select only 21.

“This is not my party as the coach, but this is the party of the 21 players that are selected. It’s all about them and it is beyond the technical team. They are the ones who will represent the country.

“So far I am happy with the preparations and I hope that we can continue in the same vein towards the tournament.”

SAFA President  Dr Danny Jordaan, who was also in attendance, wished the team well ahead of what he described as a challenging task at hand.

“We believe that this team can go all the way to the World Cup and join the team on the wall here at SAFA House, which was the last team to qualify for the World Cup. We want to wish the Technical team all the best. African under-17 teams seem to dominate at the World Cup. So we know that by looking at the picture we know it will be a challenge, but the team will be up to the task,” Dr Jordaan said.

The team is expected to depart for Algeria on Friday, 21 April 202


1. Takalani Mazhamba (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
2. Gennaro Johnson (Cape Town Spurs FC)
3. Kyle Jansen (Atlanta United FC)


4. Xhosa Manyama  (Cape Town City FC)
5. Keitumetse Lesia (Supersport United FC)
6. Waylon Renecke (Norwich City FC)
7. Benjamin Wallace (Supersport United FC)
8. Vincent Sithole (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
9. Tyler Cicero (Stellenbosch FC)
10. Thato Sibiya (Mamelodi Sundowns FC0


11. Xolani Tshaka (Orlando Pirates FC)
12. Gomolemo Kekana (TS Galaxy FC)
13. Vicky Mkhawana (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
14. Xavier Jodamus (Ubuntu Academy)
15. Dhakier Lee (Cape Town Spurs FC)


16. Luke Baartman (Cape Town Spurs FC)
17. Michael Dokunmu (Vittese FC)
18.Orifha Maubelo (Capital City FC)
19. Bennet Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
20. Gabriel Amato (Cape Town City)
21. Siyabonga Mabena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)