20 July 2022 The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the top three final list of nominees ahead of the continental body’s awards ceremony to be held tomorrow, 21 July 2022, in Rabat in Morocco.

Banyana Banyana and Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies duo Andile Dlamini and Bambanani Mbane have been shortlisted in the Women’s Interclub Player of the Year category alongside Ghanaian Evelyn Badu.

The SASOL-sponsored Senior Women’s National Team have had a heavy and success laden season including reaching the final of the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) this week which saw coach Desiree Ellis being recognised in the Coach of the Year women’s category. Ellis has now led her side to back-to-back WAFCON final appearances, and also secured a place in the FIFA Women’s World Cup for the second time in a row.

The Banyana Banyana coach will be up against Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies head coach Jerry Tshabalala, who won the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League in 2021, Zambia’s Bruce Mwape and Morocco’s Reynald Pedros.

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies have last been shortlisted for Women’s Club of the Year award, alongside AS FAR of Morocco and Hasaacas Ladies of Ghana.

Full list of top 3 nominees

Player of the Year (Women)

Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon & Internazionale Milano)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

Grace Chanda (Zambia & BIIK Kazygurt)

Player of the Year (Men)

Edouard Mendy (Senegal & Chelsea)

Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Bayern Munich)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

Andile Dlamini (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Bambanani Mbane (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns) 

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes) 

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

Achraf Dari (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

Aliou Dieng (Mali & Al Ahly)

Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt & Al Ahly)

Young Player of the Year (Women)

Doris Boaduwaa (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies)

Evelyn Badu (Ghana & Sekondi Hasaacas Ladies/Alvaldsnes)

Yasmine Zouhir (Morocco & AS Saint-Etienne)

Young Player of the Year (Men) 

Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia & Manchester United)

Karim Konate (Cote d’Ivoire & ASEC/RB Salzburg)

Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal & Tottenham Hotspur)

Coach of the Year (Women)

Bruce Mwape (Zambia)

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

Coach of the Year (Men)

Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

Carlos Queiroz (Egypt)

Walid Regragui (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year (Women)

AS FAR (Morocco)

Hasaacas Ladies (Ghana)

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

Club of the Year (Men)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

RS Berkane (Morocco)

Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

National Team of the Year (Men) 




Goal of the Year

Gabadinho Mhango (Malawi & Orlando Pirates)

Pape Ousmane Sakho (Senegal & Simba)

Zouhair El Moutaraji (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)