2 November 2021 – Bafana Bafana coach Hugo Broos has named his final 24-man squad for final FIFA World Cup qualifying matches against Zimbabwe at home and the Black Stars of Ghana away.

South Africa take on neighbours Zimbabwe on Thursday, 11 November at FNB Stadium and three days later, take on Ghana on 14 November.

Bafana Bafana lead Group G with 10 points from 4 games and are the only undefeated side in the group while second placed Ghana has 9 points from the same number of games.

In-form Kaizer Chiefs midfielder-cum-striker Keagan Dolly makes a welcome return to the national team, so is mercurial striker Percy Tau of Al Ahly.

Other than that, Broos has retained most of the squad that has served him well so far in this campaign with three goalkeepers, captain Ronwen Williams, Veli Mothwa and Bruce Bvuma all being retained in the 24-man squad.

Also making the final cut is imposing Portuguese-based defender Thibang Phete who plays for Belenenses.

Both South Africa and the Black Stars play their matches on 11 November in Johannesburg and are expected to leave for Ghana soon after their respective matches. Ghana will take on Ethiopia at Orlando Stadium before Bafana Bafana lock horns with Zimbabwe later on the same day at FNB Stadium.

Only one team from each of the 10 CAF groups qualify for the final qualifying round of which five teams from Africa will qualify for Qatar 2022.

Bafana Bafana final 24-man squad:


Ronwen Williams (Supersport United FC)
Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu FC)
Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs FC)


Sydney Mobbie (Sekhukhune United FC)
Njabulo Blom (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv)
Rushine De Reuck (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Njabulo Ngcobo (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Terence Mashego (Cape Town City FC)
Sifiso Hlanti (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Thibang Phete (Belenenses SAD)


Sphephelo Sithole (Belenenses SAD)
Thabani Zuke (Golden Arrows FC)
Ethan Brooks (TS Galaxy FC)
Teboho Mokoena (Supersport United FC)
Yusuf Maart (Sekhukhune FC)
Mduduzi Mdantsane (Cape Town City FC)
Keagan Dolly (Kaizer Chiefs FC)


Fagrie Lakay (Cape Town City FC)
Evidence Makgopa (Baroka FC)
Victor Letsoalo (Royal AM FC)
Percy Tau (Al Ahly)
Bongokuhle Hlongwane (Maritzburg United FC)
Mmodi Pule (Golden Arrows FC)