16 October 2021 – Banyana Banyana coach Desiree Ellis has named a strong 18-woman squad to take on Mozambique in the first round of the AWCON qualifiers on Wednesday, 20 October 2021 at Estadio Nacional do Zimpeto in Maputo.

The team will travel to the Mozambican capital on Monday for Wednesday’s critical match.

Banyana Banyana took part in the COSAFA Cup soon after winning the inaugural Aisha Buhari Cup in Nigeria last month. The team participating in the qualifiers is at full strength with the return of top overseas players.

The Banyana Banyana coach said the COSAFA Cup setback, in which the side lost to Malawi and Zambia, was behind them and were now focussing on the AWCON qualifiers starting with neighbours Mozambique.

The return leg between South Africa and Mozambique will be played on Tuesday, 26 October 2021 at Dobsonville Stadium . 

The AWCON is scheduled to take place in Morocco between July and August 2022 after being previously cancelled due to the Corona virus outbreak.

Banyana Banyana squad for Mozambique AWCON qualifier 


1. Kaylin Swart    (JVW FC)

2. Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)


3. Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk)

4. Janine Van Wyk (JVW FC)

5. Tiisetso Makhubela (Tshwane University of Technology)

6. Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC )

7. Mandisa Faya (Lindelani Ladies FC)

8. Asanda  Hadebe (Sunflower WFC)


9. Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape)

10. Refiloe Jane (AC Milan)

11.  Linda  Motlhalo (Djurgarden FC)

12. Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)

13. Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape)

14. Oratile Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

15.  Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC)


16. Hildah Magaia (Moron BK)

17. Melinda Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

18. Thembi Kgatlana (Athletico Madrid)