1 October 2021 – South Africa’s U20 Women’s National Team (Basetsana) will report back into camp on Saturday, 2 October 2021, for the second leg of the 2022 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup – Costa Rica, qualifier match against Mozambique.

The South Africans came away from the first leg with a good 1-0 win. That match was played in Maputo on 23 September 2021. The home side will be looking to secure their path to the second round when the two sides meet on 8 October 2021.

Basetsana head Coach Jabulile Baloyi has boosted her squad to 24 players ahead of the second leg where they will play the winners between Kenya vs Uganda.

“We have kept the core of the squad that travelled to Mozambique two weeks ago and brought in a few more players to start building for the next round. We are very proud that all our players are currently active and have gained so much experience from the U17 National Team along with their respective leagues,” said Baloyi.

“We will have an intensive week of training because we are very hungry to qualify for the U20 FIFA Women’s World Cup and we will ensure that we progress beyond Mozambique.

The match between Basetsana and Mozambique will be played on Friday, 8 October 2021 at Dobsonville Stadium and kick off is at 3pm.


  1. Karabo MOHALE University of Johannesburg (Gauteng)
  2. Nthabiseng RAMAISHA University of the Witwatersrand (Gauteng)
  3. Thando SITHOLE Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)
  4. Ayesha MOOSA Soweto Fabulous Ladies (Gauteng)
  5. Thimna MPHELE RV United (Western Cape)
  6. Ntateko NKHUNA Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)
  7. Lonathemba MHLONGO Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)
  8. Shannon MACOMO High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
  9. Mmabatho MOGALE JVW (Gauteng)


10. Aliyaah ALLIE JVW (Gauteng)

11. Zethembiso VILAKAZI Lindelani FC (KwaZulu Natal)

12. Thando SIBANDA Mito Stars (Gauteng)

13. Cimone SAULS JVW (Gauteng)

14. Kamvelihle SPEELMAN Volcano Ladies (Eastern Cape)

15. Jade LEASK JVW (Gauteng)

16. Khunjulwa MALI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)

17. Sphumelele SHAMASE Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)

18. Nabeela GALANT University of Cape Town (Western Cape)

19. Sibahle NDLOVU Durban Ladies (KwaZulu Natal)

20. Patience MLOTSHWA Tshwane University of Technology (Gauteng)


21. Thembelihle MASIBI Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies (Gauteng)
22. Asanda HADEBE Sunflower WFC (KwaZulu Natal)

23. Ronnel DONELLY Donnelly Stars (KwaZulu Natal)

24. Lithemba SAM SAM Cape Town Roses (Western Cape)