8 September 2021 – Banyana Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis has named her final 18-woman squad for the Aisha Buhari Cup that will take place in Lagos, Nigeria from 15-21 September 2021.

The team assembled at the SAFA Technical Centre (Fun Valley) on Sunday, 5 September 2021 and is expected to depart for Nigeria on Sunday, 12 September 2021 where they will be joined by their overseas-based players.  

Banyana Banyana were scheduled to travel to Netherlands in June to the play the hosts in an international friendly as part of the CAF AWCON preparations but the trip was called off due to Covid-19 challenges.

The Senior Women’s National team had their first training session on Monday, 6 September 2021 and coach Ellis was satisfied with the level of fitness from most of the players.

“Today was a restart and it was good to see the players after a long while. You can see that they have been playing. The level of fitness is what we reasonably expected,” said Ellis.

“As the week goes by we will concentrate more on specifics and obviously conditioning before we travel. I was also very happy with the new players that came in, they don’t look like they are too far behind as well,” added Ellis.

The Banyana Banyana coach added that the Aisha Buhari Cup was ideal for the AWCON qualifiers preparations and an opportunity to also look at Banyana’s overseas based players.

“We have the Buhari Cup, The COSAFA Cup, and the AWCON and we have already worked on what we think we will need over the next two months. Consistency and regular game time is always key as we are trying to make sure that we have covered our bases but the first tournament (Aisha Buhari Cup) will dictate what happens next,’’ concluded Ellis.

Banyana Banyana squad for Aisha Buhari Cup


  • Kaylin Swart (JVW FC)
  • Regirl Ngobeni (University of Western Cape)


  • Lebohang Ramalepe (Dinamo Minsk)
  • Janine Van Wyk (Glasgow City)
  • Tiisetso Makhubele (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Bambanani Mbane (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Koketso  Tlailane (Tshwane University of Technology FC)


  • Ongeziwe Ndlangisa  (Sunflower FC)
  • Mamello Makhabane (JVW FC)
  • Thembi Kgatlana (Atletico Madrid)
  • Refiloe Jane  (AC Milan)
  • Linda  Motlhalo (Djurgardens FC)
  • Robyn Moodaly (JVW FC)
  • Noxolo Cesane (University of Western Cape)
  • Gabriela Salgado (JVW FC)


  • Sibulele Holweni (University of Western Cape
  • Melinda  Kgadiete (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
  • Hildah Magaia (Moron BK)