2 February 2021 –The South African U17 Men’s national Team (Amajimbos) have reported for camp at the SAFA National Technical Centre to begin their U17 Africa Cup of Nations preparations.

This training camp will run from 1-12 February 2021.

Amajimbos won the 2020 COSAFA Cup and will be one of the two COSAFA teams to take part at the u17 junior AFCON tournament alongside Zambia in this 14th Edition of the continental showpiece scheduled from 13 – 31 March 2021 in Morocco .

This tournament is normally used as qualification for the FIFA u17 tournament that was scheduled for Peru. However, the world governing body has since cancelled the U-17 World Cup due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Head Coach Vela Khumalo has expressed mixed feelings over the situation.

“We are very proud to have qualified for AFCON but are very disappointed that we will not get the opportunity to play at the FIFA World Cup. We had a great four-year plan which has been fruitful. Our ultimate aim was to play at the FIFA World Cup.

‘’In 2019 we brought in a squad of 14/15 year old players who would grow as a team for the World Cup. Our first year was not that great as the players had to learn what it is to represent your country and play outside their comfort zone. We did not have the best COSAFA tournament in Malawi because the youngsters were overawed by the occasion; but last year was a different story. We went on to win the tournament,’’ said Khumalo.

“This year our plan was to get one of the four spots at the AFCON and qualify for the World Cup, which has since been cancelled.

‘’We have started our preparations for the AFCON and we hope to get a few friendly matches against other countries before the tournament begins. We want to really do well at the upcoming AFCON tournament,’’ concluded Khumalo.

32 Men Squad in camp:


  1. Enrique ERASMUS Stars of Africa (Gauteng)
  2. Callum THOMPSON KZN Academy (KwaZulu Natal)
  3. Dejean ISIAH Ubuntu FC (Western Cape)
  4. Akhanyile NORAWANA School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  5. Siyabonga GUMEDE School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  6. Simthandile SISHI Stars of Africa (Gauteng)
  7. Puso DITHEJANE School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  8. Masibonga NGIDI AmaZulu (KwaZulu Natal)
  9. Tshiamo MOGORO Rosina (Gauteng)
  10. Abram MASHELE SuperSport United (Gauteng)
  11. Neo RAASHALA TUKS University (Gauteng)
  12. Lindokuhle MBUTHO Highlands Park (Gauteng)
  13. Luciano JONAS Unattached (formerly with Bidvest Wits)
  14. Siphesihle TATI Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  15. Mduduzi SHABALALA Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  16. Ntandoyenkosi NKOSI Kaizer Chiefs (Gauteng)
  17. Innocent MAILULA Unattached
  18. Mxolisi BHENGU KZN Academy (KwaZulu Natal)
  19. Mduduzi MOKOENA SuperSport United (Gauteng)
  20. Bantu LANGA Rosina (Gauteng)
  21. Kitso MORE TUKS University (Gauteng)
  22. Olebogeng MOTLHOIWA Mamelodi Sundowns (Gauteng)
  23. Keavian FRANCIS School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  24. Innocent NTLHANE School of Excellence (Gauteng)
  25. Neo DIKGALE TUKS University (Gauteng)
  26. Sanele SKOSANA AP Apprentice Academy (Gauteng)
  27. Anathi RADEBE Cape Town Spurs (Western Cape)
  28. Mikhenso MBIGA TS Galaxy (Mpumalanga)
  29. Thabang MAHLANGU SuperSport United (Gauteng)
  30. Uwais SAEED KZN Academy (KwaZulu Natal)
  31. Dan CHIMANGA SuperSport United (Gauteng)
  32. Refengkgotso NYATHI Saints FC (Mpumalanga)

For further information please contact:

SAFA: Head of Communications
Dominic Chimhavi
Email: dominic.chimhavi@safa.net
Mobile: +27 71 332 9886