27 April 2020 – The SAFA Chatsworth Local Football Association (LFA) has played their part during the current national COVID-19 lockdown and donated R10 000 to the Coronavirus Action Committee (COVAC).

With footballing action sadly at a standstill across the globe, off-field activities have taken precedence.

The donation is in line with the multiple efforts in the community to provide food parcels, which they believe will help ease the burden on the vulnerable and destitute families in Chatsworth and surrounding areas.

SAFA Chatsworth Chairman, Mr Nelson Spinks Kuppen was glad to assist.

“As a community-based organisation, we must be able to assist each and every one of our people during this pandemic, which does not differentiate between race, colour or creed,” he said.

He also emphasised that these are unprecedented and challenging times faced by the entire world as we move into unchartered territory and that we need to stand together and help our fellow human beings.

“This is an ideal opportunity for all of us to come together and share our humanitarian values by doing something for the community. This certainly is a humbling experience for all of us at SAFA Chatsworth,” added Kuppen.

The LFA also applauded President Cyril Ramaphosa, his ministry and the government in general for taking swift action. They have appealed to the community to please heed the call from government and abide by the rules of the Disaster Management Act and encouraged them to adapt to the new ways of everyday life.

Kuppen also thanked all frontline workers for a superb job and commended COVAC for a sterling job and also wished to thank all football executives, especially the membership of SAFA Chatsworth for their community spirit.

“A message to our community is to please stay at home, wash your hands regularly and support and encourage one another during these trying times. It is critical that we stay safe and avoid this virus at all costs. Together as a SAFA family we can overcome this. Stay safe and be blessed”, concluded the Chairman.