South Africa -3 (Wade 12’ , Gamede 72’, Taiwe 79’)

Zambia – 0

14 March 2020 – The South Africa U-17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana) beat COSAFA counterparts Zambia 3-2 on aggregate to progress to the next round for the 2020 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup qualifiers.

Bantwana who were trailing 2-0 from the first leg, played in Lusaka on 28 February 2020 came out guns blazing on Saturday afternoon to beat Zambia 3-0 at home and progress to the next round.  

Captain Jessica Wade scored a beautiful goal in the 12th mintue after scooping the ball over goalkeeper Inghutu Muchahabali, while Nelly Gamede also managed to scoop the ball over the keeper in the 72nd minute. Substitute Kananelo Taiwe won a loose ball and put the final nail on the coffin in the 79th minute.

“Congratulations to the players;”said Head Coach Simphiwe Dludlu. They earned this win because they played for each other.

“After our first leg we told the players that this result was up to them. We made sure that they studied the match and saw were we had positive moments and negative moments. We had to ensure that we contained Zambia and more importantly convert our chances, which we did;”concluded Dludlu.

South African starting XI: Karabo Mohale (GK); Thimna Mpehle; Shannon Macomo; Nkateko Nkhuna; Shakira O’Malley; Aliyaah Allie (Kananelo Taiwe); Nelly Gamede; Mihle Lumko (Nabeelah Galant) ; Jessica Wade (C); Ronnel Donnelly (Tarran Janaury ); Cimone Sauls

South African substitutes: Manana Myeki (GK); Hlela Philisani; Tiffany Kortjie; Tiyana Carollisen; Kananelo Taiwe; Lithemba Sam Sam; Kananelo Taiwe

Zambian starting XI: Inghutu Muchahabali (GK); Ester Siamfuko; Joshepine Phiri; Marget Yemba; Dorica Malunga;  Martha Kitila Banda; Precious Nsama; Florence Kasonde; Ester Banda; Maweta Glory Chilenga; Tisilile Lunga

Zambian substitutes: Chiteta Munsaka (GK); Blessed Mwaba; Pauline Zulu; Patricia Mumba; Tefeoga Munene; Shelly Masumo; Melissa Mataba

Match Officials: Salima Mukansanga (Referee); Sandrine Usenga (1st Assistant Referee); Alice Umutesi (2nd Asssistant Referee); Aline Umutoni (4th Official); Mila Motur (Match Commissioner)