13 September 2019 – Head coach of the South African U-17 Women’s National Team (Bantwana), Simphiwe Dludlu, has named a squad of 20 players that will participate in the inaugural COSAFA U-17 Women’s Championships, scheduled to take place in Port Louis, Mauritius from 20 -29 September 2019.

Dludlu had called up 34 players to assess, and after a vigorous week of training she made her selection based on how players responded to the national team set up along with their performance in the training match against JVW FC U-17 squad on Thursday night (12 September), which the national team won 3-1.

“We have had a hectic week of training, dealing with a big group of players. I believe we have chosen a strong team and we are happy with the quality of players, but it was important to also see which of them can quickly adapt to new surroundings, and different coaching styles,” said Dludlu.

“I was also impressed with their performance in the practice match against JVW, the players managed to keep the shape we want and most importantly follow instructions. We were also pleasantly surprised and happy with Olivia Hardie from JVW FC who played played at center back and her performance has earned her a call up into our squad.”

Dludlu also praised the opponents for giving her squad the kind of practice they needed ahead of such an important tournament.

“The type of performance and opposition we had against JVW is what I want to urge other clubs to bring when we request practice matches against them. This will give clubs an opportunity to market their players to national teams, because the fact is we are not able to see all the players in the country and some good ones may be overlooked – so this was a win-win situation for both club and country, we are glad it ended well,” concluded Dludlu.

Basetsana will continue with preparations for the COSAFA U-17 Championships before departing for Mauritius next week ahead of their opening match on 21 September 2019.

Basetsana squad for 2019 COSAFA U-17 Women’s Championship:

1. Karabo MOHALE High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
2. Luyanda SIBIYA Sunflower FC (KwaZulu Natal)
3. Mihle LUMKO High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
4. Shannon MACOMO Golden Stars (Eastern Cape)
5. Ntateko NKHUNA Mams Ladies FC (Gauteng)
6. Shakira O’MALLEY High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
7. Olivia HARDIE Randburg FC (Gauteng)
8. Philisani HLELA Cape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)
9. Yolanda NDULI Sunflower FC (KwaZulu Natal)
10. Jessica WADE JVW (Gauteng)
11. Thando SIBANDA Mito Stars FC (Gauteng)
12. Tiffany KORTJIE Golden Stars (Eastern Cape)
13. Nelly GAMEDE Leandre Ladies FC (Mpumalanga)
14. Jolaine MOUERS Spurs FC (Western Cape)
15. Nabeelah GALANT University of Cape Town (Western Cape)
16. Sonika MZINGELI Cape Town Roses FC (Western Cape)
17. Tiyana CAROLLESSEN Vasco Da Gama FC (Western Cape)
18. Christy NOBLE High Performance Centre (Gauteng)
19. Inathi MAKAYA Thunderbirds FC (KwaZulu Natal)
20. Oyisa MARHAZI Eluhulwini FC (Eastern Cape)