30 August 2019 – The South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) will broadcast more matches of the newly-launched SAFA National Women’s League (SNWL). This is a massive boost for the Women’s League in its bid to attract more partners and sponsors.

As a result of this arrangement, Week 10 of the SNWL – which was meant to be played on the weekend of 16-17 November 2019 in Johannesburg – has been brought forward, and will now take place on 7-8 September at the University of Johannesburg, Soweto Campus.

These fixtures were chosen because that was when the league would be returning for another round in Johannesburg – it was just a matter of bringing the date forward, according to SAFA Football Business GM, Mzwandile Maforvane.

The matches that will be broadcast live are between Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies and Durban Ladies as well as University of Johannesburg vs Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies on Saturday and Sunday respectively.

Both matches kick-off at 15h00.

“This is a step in the right direction for all, especially the new league as we are looking to attract long term sponsors. With the kind of relationship we enjoy with the SABC, this can only augur well for the SNWL,” said SAFA Acting CEO Russell Paul.

“We are grateful to the public broadcaster for this gesture and when they approached us to bring these fixtures forward with a guaranteed live broadcast, we did not hesitate. This is another good chance for us to showcase the talent of our women footballers and another opportunity for the sponsors to see where they can come in.”

Week 2, scheduled to be played on the weekend of 7-8 September, has been moved to the following weekend of 14-15 September and the venue remains the University of the Western Cape in Cape Town.

This is another further cap for the SNWL after a successful launch last weekend at the Nike Football Training Centre in Soweto.

History was also made on Sunday, 25 August when the first ever match of the league was broadcast live on SABC 1 during the clash between Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies and Richmond Ladies.

The former won the match 7-0.




Saturday, 7 September 2019 – UJ Sports Complex, Soweto

* Coal City Wizards               vs        First Touch Academy            10h00

* TUT                                      vs       Thunderbirds Ladies             12h30

* Durban Ladies                    vs        Bloemfontein Celtic Ladies   15h00


Sunday, 8 September – UJ Sports Complex, Soweto

* UWC                                     vs        Golden Ladies                     10h00

* Tsunami Queens                vs        Richmond Ladies                   12h30

* University of Jhb                vs        Mamelodi Sundowns                15h00



  • There are nine Sasol League provincial champions in the SNWL
  • They are joined by three invited teams – Bloemfontein Celtic, University of Johannesburg and Mamelodi Sundowns
  • With Celtic winning the Sasol League in the Free State, second-placed Tsunami Queens ascended to the throne and qualified for the SNWL
  • Gauteng has three teams, while the Free State has two and the rest have one each.


Here are the participating teams:

* TUT-PTA                                          Gauteng (Sasol League National Champions)

* University of Western Cape         Western Cape

* Richmond Ladies                            Northern Cape

* Golden Ladies                                 North West

* Coal City Wizards                           Mpumalanga

* Durban Ladies                                KwaZulu Natal

* First Touch Academy                     Limpopo

* Thunderbirds                                 Eastern Cape

* Bloemfontein Celtic                        Free State

– Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies          Gauteng

– University of Johannesburg          Gauteng

– Tsunami Queens                             Free State