30 August 2019 – The fixtures for the COSAFA Women‘s Under-17 Championship in Mauritius have been released, with the tournament set to kick-off on September 20 with a clash between East African guest nation Uganda and Zambia at the St. François Xavier Stadium in Port Louis.

The eight-team competition is the first time COSAFA is staging a women’s football event in this age-group and is a sign of the organisation’s commitment to developing the women’s game in the region, having also held Under-20 and senior international competitions.

The second match on the opening day will involves hosts Mauritius as they take on fellow islanders Comoros at the same venue at 15h30 (GMT+4).

South Africa, who competed at the last FIFA Women’s Under-17 World Cup in Uruguay, begin their Group B campaign a day later against the Seychelles at 15h30, while before then Botswana take on Madagascar in the other game in the pool at 12h30.

The St. François Xavier Stadium will be the primary venue for the competition, though when the final round of group games are played simultaneously, the Mauritius Football Association Technical Centre will be used as the second venue.

Pool stage matches will be played every day between September 20-25, with three points awarded for a win and one for a draw.

The top two teams in each pool advance to the semifinals, which will both take place on September 27.

The third-place play-off will take place on September 29 at 11h00, while later in the day will be the final at 15h00 to decide the winners of the inaugural trophy.

To see the full list of fixtures, click here!