30 August 2019 – The South African Senior Women’s National Team (Banyana Banyana) played to a goalless draw against Botswana on Saturday night, 30 August 2019 at the National Stadium in Gaborone, Botswana.

Banyana Banyana failed to convert any of their chances in what was rather a tough and rough match, as Botswana parked the bus and had impressive saves from goalkeeper Sedilame Mogotsi.

Head Coach Desiree Ellis went into the game with the will to win however; it was not to be as Mogotsi kept Botswanain the match.

Busisiwe Ndimeni was brought into the match in the 39th minute, after Robyn Moodaly was injured and had to be substituted after a nasty knock on her ankle.

The second half saw teenager Noxolo Cesane come on for Rhoda Mulaudzi in the 73rd mintue, as Banyana Banyana tried to get the away goal.

Bostwana parked the bus throughout the match and had one great chance from Lesego Radiakanyo to clinch the game however; Andile Dlamini made the all important save to ensure that the first leg ended in a goalless draw.

“It was a battle out there”, said Desiree Ellis.

“We knew that Botswana would come at us with the counter attack and the pitch did not suit the way we wanted to play.

The big factor that we will take from here is that we did not conceded and that is very important in such matches.

Banyana Banayan will travel back to Johannesburg, South Africa tomorrow morning to continue preparations for the return leg against Botswana.

This match will be played on Tuesday, 3 September 2019 at Orlando Stadium.

Kickoff is scheduled for 19h00.

South Africa starting XI: Andile Dlamini (GK); Nothando Vilakazi; Lebogang Ramalepe; Bambanani Mbane; Tiiseto Makhubela; Mamello Makhabane; Refiloe Jane (C); Robyn Moodaly(Busisiwe Ndimeni 39’); Jermaine Seoposenwe; Rhoda Mulaudzi (Noxolo Cesane 73’)

Botswana starting XI: Sedilame Mogotsi (GK); Veronicah Mogotsi; Masego Montsho; Bonang Otlhagile; Golebaone Selebatso; Mokgabo Thanda; Balotlhanyi Johannes; Lesego Radiakanyo; Refilwe Tholakele; Nondi Mahlasela

Botswana substitutes: Refiloe Tshambani; Bame Ngenda; Nancy Baeletsi; Boitumelo Gammu; Masego Nfandiso; Leano Busang; Lone Gaofetoge; Esalenna Galekhutle