22 August 2019 – Head coach of the Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana Desiree Ellis has announced a squad of 20 players to face Botswana in the second round of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic qualifiers.

The former Banyana Banyana captain has called up overseas-based players Leandra Smeda, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Nothando Vilakazi and Rhoda Mulaudzi, who all missed the recent COSAFA Women’s Championship in Port Elizabeth due to club commitments.

Also getting a recall is goalkeeper Mapaseka Mpuru, one of three goalkeepers.

But South Africa will be without the injured Thembi Kgatlana and captain Janine van Wyk, while Linda Motlhalo has been left out due to the hectic club programme and the long distance she has to travel from China – she has just recovered from a knee injury sustained at the World Cup in France.

Ongeziwe Ndlangisa, Priscilla Pesa, Shange Sthembile, Ode Fulutudilu – who were part of the winning 2018 COSAFA CUP squad, have not been called up.

Vice captain Refiloe Jane is expected to lead the team in the absence of Van Wyk.

Banyana Banyana will assemble for camp on Monday, 26 August 2019 in Johannesburg.

They travel to Botswana two days later (Wednesday, 28 August) and the match is scheduled for Friday, 30 August.

The return leg will be played at the Dobsonville Stadium on Tuesday, 3 September.

Kickoff is at 19h00.

In the third round, the overall winner will face the victors of the clash between Zambia and Zimbabwe.

CAF has 1.5 slot(s) in Tokyo 2020, which means the winner of the fifth round qualifies for the Olympics, while the runners up will take on COPA America runners-up Chile in a play-off.

Zimbabwe and South Africa were Africa’s representatives at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

Cameroon, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Nigeria are the only African nations to ever play in the Women’s Olympic tournament.




Second Round:


First & second leg: 26 Aug – 3 Sept 2019

  1. Cote d’Ivoire vs Mali (31/8/19)
  2. Mali vs  Côte d’Ivoire (3/9/19)
  3. Algeria vs Nigeria (28/8/19)
  4. Nigeria vs Algeria (1/9/19)
  5. Ethiopia vs Cameroon (26/8/19)
  6. Cameroon vs Ethiopia (3/9/19)
  7. DR Congo vs Equatorial Guinea (28/8/19)
  8. Equatorial Guinea vs DR Congo (1/9/19)
  9. Gabon vs Ghana (26/8/19)
  10. Ghana vs Gabon (2/9/19)
  11. Malawi vs Kenya (28/8/19)
  12. Kenya vs Malawi (1/9/19)
  13. Zambia vs Zimbabwe (28/8/19)
  14. Zimbabwe vs Zambia (1/9/19)
  15. Botswana vs South Africa (30/8/19)
  16. South Africa vs Botswana (3/9/19)


Third Round


First & second leg: 30 Sept – 8 Oct 2019

  1. Cote d’Ivoire/Mali vs Algeria/Nigeria
  2. Algeria v Nigeria vs Cote d’Ivoire/Mali
  3. Ethiopia/Cameroon vs DR Congo/Equatorial Guinea
  4. DR Congo/Equatorial Guinea vs Ethiopia/Cameroon
  5. Gabon/Ghana vs Malawi/Kenya
  6. Malawi/Kenya vs Gabon/Ghana
  7. Zambia/Zimbabwe vs Botswana/South Africa
  8. Botswana/South Africa vs Zambia/Zimbabwe


Fourth Round:


First & second leg: 4 – 12 Nov 2019

  1. Win 35-36 vs Win 37-38
  2. Win 37-38 vs  Win 35-36
  3. Win 39-40 vs Win 41-42
  4. Win 41-42 vs Win 39-40

Fifth Round:

Dates: (TBC)
First & second leg: 13 Jan – 9 Feb 2020

  1. Win 43-44 vs Win 45-46
  2. Win 45-46 vs Win 43-44



1. Andile DLAMINI GK Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria GAUTENG
2. Kaylin SWART GK Golden Stars Port Elizabeth EASTERN CAPE
3. Mapaseka MPURU GK University of Pretoria Pretoria GAUTENG
4. Lebogang RAMALEPE DF Ma- Indies FC Polokwane LIMPOPO
5. Noko MATLOU DF Ma-Indies FC Polokwane LIMPOPO
6. Bambanani MBANE DF Bloemfontein Celtic FC Bloemfontein FREE STATE
7.  Nothando VILAKAZI DF Gintra Universitetas Lithuania LITHUANIA
8. Tiisetso MAKHUBELA DF Mamelodi Sundowns FC Pretoria GAUTENG
9. Bongeka GAMEDE DF University of Western Cape Cape Town WESTERN CAPE
10.Mamello MAKHABANE MF JVW FC Johannesburg GAUTENG
11. Busisiwe NDIMENI MF Tshwane University of Technology-PTA Pretoria GAUTENG
12. Refiloe JANE MF Unattached  Johannesburg GAUTENG
13. Kholosa BIYANA MF University of KwaZulu Natal Durban KWA ZULU NATAL
14.  Noxolo CESANE MF University of Western Cape Cape Town WESTERN CAPE
15.  Robyn MOODALY MF JVW FC Johannesburg GAUTENG
16. Leandra SMEDA MF Vittsjo GIK Sweden SWEDEN
17. Jermaine SEOPOSENWE FW Gintra Universitetas Lithuania LITHUANIA
18. Amanda MTHANDI FW University of Johannesburg Johannesburg GAUTENG
19. Rhoda MULAUDZI FW Apollon Ladies FC  Cyprus CYPRUS
20. Hildah MAGAIA FW Tshwane University of Technology-PTA Pretoria GAUTENG