20 August 2019 – Head coach of the South African Olympic Team, David Notoane, has named a strong 25-man squad to face Zimbabwe in the third and final round of the 2019 Total U-23 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

South Africa and Zimbabwe face off in the first leg on Thursday, 5 September 2019 at Milpark Stadium in Johannesburg.

Kickoff is at 19h00.

The third and final round qualifiers have been rescheduled from June to September as they were too close to the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations, which took place in June.

Notoane has kept the bulk of the team that defeated Angola 6-1 on aggregate in the last round in March this year – calling up seven overseas-based players from Latvia, Portugal, England, France and Denmark.

Notoane and his charges assemble for camp in Johannesburg on Sunday, 1 September.

The second leg is scheduled for Zimbabwe on Sunday, 8 September 2019 at the National Sports Stadium in Harare, with a 15h00 kickoff.

South Africa travels to Zimbabwe on Friday, 6 September.

The fixtures for the final round are as follows:

*South Africa vs Zimbabwe
*Zambia vs Congo
*Ghana vs Algeria
*Cameroon vs Tunisia
*Cote d’Ivoire vs Guinea
*Sudan vs Nigeria
*Morocco vs Mali

The round will be played on a home and away basis, with the seven winners joining hosts Egypt for the final tournament scheduled for 8-22 November 2019.

The top three finishers in the competition will represent Africa at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.



1 Mondli MPOTO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
2 Darren JOHNSON Ajax Town FC (SA)
3 Andile MBANJWA Richards Bay FC (SA)
4 Keanu CUPIDO Cape Town City FC (SA)
5 Sandile MTHETHWA Chippa United FC (SA)
6 Kabelo SERIBA FC Metta (Latvia)
7 Sibusiso MABILISO Amazulu FC (SA)
8 Bongani SAM Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
9 Tercious MALEPE Chippa United FC (SA)
10 Siyabonga NGEZANA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
11 Teboho MOKOENA Supersport United FC (SA)
12 Athenkosi DLALA University of Pretoria (SA)
13 Gift LINKS Cape Town FC (SA)
14 Keletso MAKGALWA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
15 Kamohelo MAHLATSI Supersport United FC (SA)
16 Grant MAGERMAN Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
17 Jamie WEBBER Supersport United FC (SA)
18 Thabo CELE Cova da Piedade FC (Portugal)
19 Sipho MBULE Supersport United FC (SA)
20 Khaya LESHABELA Leicester City (England)
21 Luther SINGH Moreirense FC (Portugal))
22 Jemondre DICKENS Baroka FC (SA)
23 Lyle FOSTER AS Monaco FC (France))
24 Liam JORDAN HB Koge FC (Denmark)
25 Kobamelo KODISANG Sporting Braga FC (Portugal)