10 August 2019 – Zimbabwe wrapped up third place at the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Championship with another accomplished performance as they cruised to a 3-0 victory over the 10 players of Botswana at the Wolfson Stadium in Nelson Mandela Bay on Saturday (10 August).

It is the first time Zimbabwe have claimed the bronze medal in the competition, having won a gold and two silvers in the past, and they can be proud of a solid showing at the championship where they were only beaten by hosts South Africa in the semifinals.

Goals in the second period from Felistas Muzongondi (two) and Mavis Chirandu sealed the victory as Zimbabwe proved the more clinical side on the day and might have won by a greater margin.

Botswana ended the game with 10 players after a red card for Lone Gaofetoge with a little over 20 minutes to go, the first sending-off of what has otherwise been a very ‘clean’ tournament.

Zimbabwe were on top from the first whistle but battled to turn their dominance into goals in the opening half.

But once Muzongondi had them in front three minutes after the break, they followed that up with a quick second to kill off the hopes of Botswana as Chirandu netted for a fourth time in the championship.

It was plain sailing from there as the Mighty Warriors kept the ball and created a few clear-cut opportunities, and added to their score through a second in injury-time from Muzongondi.

The final of the COSAFA Women’s Championship will be played on Sunday, 12 August at the Wolfson Stadium at 14h00 (12h00) as hosts South Africa seek a hat-trick of titles when they take on Zambia.

The home side have looked the more accomplished throughout the competition, even without their overseas-based stars, but Zambia will be a stern test of their strength in depth.

South Africa have won five of the six COSAFA Women’s Championship finals played, including the last two, while coach Desiree Ellis is unbeaten in 14 previous matches she has coached in the competition, winning 12 with two draws.

That includes the tournament and team record 17-0 thrashing of Comoros Islands earlier on in this year’s even in Nelson Mandela Bay.

Zambia are appearing in their first final having three times before claimed the bronze medal, ensuring that whatever happens in the decider, this will be their best ever finish.

Meanwhile, the final of the inaugural COSAFA Women’s Under-20 Championship will be played on Sunday when Zambia meet East African guest nation Tanzania at the Wolfson Stadium at 10h00 (08h00).

Tanzania are seeking to become the first guest nation in any COSAFA tournament to go home with the trophy, but standing in their way are a powerful Zambian side who beat them 2-1 in the pool stages.

It is sure to be an epic decider and fitting end to what has been a magnificent competition.

Both of Sunday finals have FREE entry to fans, who can collect tickets from:

Spar – Daku
Spar – New Brighton
Spar – Zonke (Motherwell)
U Save – Opposite Wolfson Stadium



At Wolfson Stadium

Botswana 0 Zimbabwe 3 (Muzongondi 48′, 90’, Chirandu 52′)

At Wolfson Stadium
14h00 (12h00 GMT) – Zambia vs South Africa

Matches played: 21

Goals scored: 116

Biggest victory: South Africa 17 Comoros Islands 0 (Group A, July 31)

Most goals in a game: 17 – South Africa 17 Comoros Islands 0 (Group A, July 31)



10 goals – Rachel Nachula (Zambia)

8 – Linda Kasenda (Malawi)

6 –Emmaculate Msipa (Zimbabwe)

5 – Zenatha Coleman (Namibia), Refiloe Jane (South Africa), Amanda Mthandi (South Africa), Rudo Neshamba (Zimbabwe)

4 – Mavis Chirandu (Zimbabwe)

3 – Bambanani Mbane (South Africa), Hellen Mubanga (Zambia), Mary Mwakapila (Zambia), Asimenye Simwaka (Malawi)

2 – Grace Chanda (Zambia),Ode Fulutudilu (South Africa), Zainabu Kapanda (Malawi), Arminda Lopes (Angola), Hilda Magaia (South Africa), Laurinda Maonte (Angola), Tenanile Mgcamphalala (Eswatini), Felistas Muzongondi (Zimbabwe), Busiswe Ndimeni (South Africa), Marjoury Nyaumwe (Zimbabwe), Marie Rasoanandrasana (Madagascar), Nomvula Sanga (Eswatini), Sabinah Thom (Malawi)

1 –Michelle Abueng (Botswana), Kholosa Biyana (South Africa), Noxolo Cesane (South Africa), Hellen Chanda (Zambia), Theresa Chewe (Zambia), Rhoda Chileshe (Zambia), Violeta David (Mozambique), Keitumetse Dithebe (Botswana), Phumzile Dlamini (Eswatini), Esalenna Galekhutle (Botswana), Sibonelo Gwebu (Eswatini), Lorraine Jossob (Namibia), Annouscka Kordom (Namibia), Lucia (Mozambique), Tiisetso Makhubela (South Africa), Mamello Makhabane (South Africa), Cristina Makua (Angola), Wafat Mari (Comoros Islands), Tshegofatso Mosotho (Botswana), Lovisa Tuyakula Mulunga (Namibia), Hanitriniana Nivonirina (Madagascar), Lebogang Ramalepe (South Africa), Aimée Razanampiavy (Madagascar), Solomampionona Razananivo (Madagascar), Anna Shikusho (Namibia), Nonhle Simelane (Eswatini), Beverly Uueziua (Namibia), Salome Vinkhumbu (Malawi)

Own goals –Marie Jerome (Mauritius), Hanifa Melanie (Comoros Islands), Lalaina Razafimanantsoa (Madagascar)



At Wolfson Stadium
Zimbabwe 1 (Zvawanda 45′) South Africa 1 (Jacobs 43’) – SA won 4-3 on pens

At Wolfson Stadium
10h00 (08h00 GMT) – Zambia vs Tanzania



Matches played: 15

Goals scored: 49

Biggest victory: Tanzania 8 Eswatini 0 (Group B, August 4)

Most goals in a game: 8 – Tanzania 8 Eswatini 0 (Group B, August 4)



4 goals – Shakeerah Jacobs (South Africa), Enekia Kasonga Lunyamila (Tanzania), Maylan Mulenga (Zambia)

3 –Dinah Banda (Zimbabwe), Mary Mambwe (Zambia), Aisha Masaka (Tanzania)

2 – Talent Bizeki (Zimbabwe), Opa Sanga (Tanzania), Praynence Zvawanda (Zimbabwe)

1 – Veronica April (Namibia), Ember Edwards (South Africa), Theo George (Botswana), Ester Gindulya (Tanzania), Indira Jacobs (Namibia), Tyla-Bree Joss (South Africa), Christine Kalange (Zambia), Florence Kasonde (Zambia), Irene Kisisa (Tanzania), Dulce Lopes (Mozambique), Leia Lunguile (Mozambique), Oratile Mokwena (South Africa), Rennie Mudimu (Zimbabwe), Thandiwe Ndhlovu (Zambia), Thuto Radipitse (Botswana), Shamimu Salum (Tanzania), Getrude Seambala (Botswana), Leungo Senwelo (Botswana), Cynthia Shonga (Zimbabwe), Zethembiso Vilakazi (South Africa)

Own goals –Ncedo Gamedze (Eswatini), Thuto Radipitse (Botswana)