10 August 2019 The South African U20 Women’s National Team (Basetsana) claimed bronze in the inaugural COSAFA U20 Women’s Championship after defeating Zimbabwe 4-3 on penalties in the 3rd/4thplace play off on Saturday, 10 August.

The match ended in a 1-1 stalemate after the regulation 90 minutes at Wolfson Stadium.

Basetsana started the match on a high as they created some beautiful chances but Woman of the Match and Zimbabwean goalkeeper Cynthia Shonga stood in their way.

South Africa was then dealt a heavy blow in the 28th minute of the game when Zethembiso Vilakazi suffered an ankle injury and could not continue with the match, with Refiloe Maseko taking her place.

Shakeerah Jacobs opened the scoring for the host nation with a well taken goal in the 43rd minute, however, Zimbabwe equalized just on the stroke of half time through Praynence Zvawanda.

Basetsana had more bad news when Sarah Walker at replaced an injured Siyamthanda Mbatha at halftime.

The second half was rather tough as both teams failed to penetrate each other forcing South Africa to change their tactics and move a few players around in order to be able to go forward a bit more.

Basetsana eventually prevailed in the ensuing penalty shootout, winning 4-3.

“What a tough day we had especially having to go through the penalty shootout. That is always a heart stopping moment for me, even when I was a player,” said Basetsana caretaker coach Simphiwe Dludlu.

“I believe Zimbabwe really came at us today. They played with a lot of intensity and this was nothing like our opening match, when we beat them 3-0. I am very proud of the girls – and this is not even about the medal, which is a plus for us, but because we managed to meet all the targets we set out for ourselves ahead of the tournament. We managed to play as a unit, create and convert goals, play the five matches we wanted and more importantly improve as a team.”

Basetsana starting XI:

Kaydee Windvogel(GK) (C); Fikile Magama; Siyamthanda Mbatha (Sarah Walker 45’); Lonathemba Mhlongo;  Jessica Wade; Oratile Mokwena; Serenity Warner (Amber Edwards 66’); Zethembiso Vilakazi (Refilwe Maseko 28’ Amber Edwards 90’);Tshegofatso Motologelwa; Miche Minnies; Shakeerah Jacobs

Basetsana subs:

Robyn Coetzee (GK); SiphesihleDlamini (GK); Ayanda Ncube; Sarah Walker; Phumla Simelane; Refilwe Maseko; Amber Edwards

Not available:Lebogang Ntabeni; Tyler- Bree Joss