8 August 2019 – Zambia and Tanzania will contest the inaugural COSAFA Women’s Under-20 Championship final on Sunday after they claimed deserved victories in their Last 4 clashes at the Gelvandale Stadium.

Zambia defeated Zimbabwe 1-0 with the only goal of the game scored after 30 minutes by Mary Mambwe.

In a game of few chances, Zambia created the best of them and were able to hold on for their victory to seal the final place.

They will meet East African guest nation Tanzania, who stunned hosts South Africa with a 2-0 victory later in the day.

Enekia Kasonga Lunyamila moved joint top of the scorers charts with her fourth goal of the campaign, with Opa Sanga adding a second.

Tanzania are now seeking to become the first guest nation in any COSAFA tournament, at any level, to claim a trophy win.

The final will be played on Sunday, 12 August at the Wolfson Stadium at 10h00 (08h00 GMT).

Before that Zimbabwe and South Africa meet in the bronze-medal match on Saturday, 11 August at 11h00 (09h00).



Zambia 1 
(Mambwe 30’) Zimbabwe 0

South Africa 0 Tanzania 2 (Lunyamila 17′, Sanga 29′)

At Wolfson Stadium

11h00 (09h00 GMT) –Zimbabwe vs South Africa

At Wolfson Stadium

10h00 (08h00 GMT) –Zambia vs Tanzania



Matches played: 14

Goals scored: 47

Biggest victory: Tanzania 8 Eswatini 0 (Group B, August 4)

Most goals in a game: 8 – Tanzania 8 Eswatini 0 (Group B, August 4)


4 goals – 
Enekia Kasonga Lunyamila (Tanzania), Maylan Mulenga (Zambia)

3 –Dinah Banda (Zimbabwe), Shakeerah Jacobs (South Africa), Mary Mambwe (Zambia), Aisha Masaka (Tanzania)

2 – Talent Bizeki (Zimbabwe), Opa Sanga (Tanzania)

1 – Veronica April (Namibia), Ember Edwards (South Africa), Theo George (Botswana), Ester Gindulya (Tanzania), Indira Jacobs (Namibia), Tyla-Bree Joss (South Africa), Christine Kalange (Zambia), Florence Kasonde (Zambia), Irene Kisisa (Tanzania), Dulce Lopes (Mozambique), Leia Lunguile (Mozambique), Oratile Mokwena (South Africa), Rennie Mudimu (Zimbabwe), Thandiwe Ndhlovu (Zambia), Thuto Radipitse (Botswana), Shamimu Salum (Tanzania), Getrude Seambala (Botswana), Leungo Senwelo (Botswana), Cynthia Shonga (Zimbabwe), Zethembiso Vilakazi (South Africa), Praynence Zvawanda (Zimbabwe)

Own goals –Ncedo Gamedze (Eswatini), Thuto Radipit