8 August 2019 – Sasol-sponsored Banyana Banyana will take on Zambia in the final of the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Championship after both produced convincing victories in their semifinals at the Wolfson Stadium on Thursday (8 August).

Zambia brushed aside Botswana 4-0 in their Last 4 clash, before South Africa eased past Zimbabwe 3-1 as they stay on course for a third title in succession after being crowned champions in 2017 and 2018.

South Africa took the lead on 18 minutes when Bambanani Mbane headed home a free-kick from Mamello Makhabane, but within three minutes Zimbabwe were back level.

Mavis Chirandu took advantage of some indecision in the South African defence and crashed the ball home after picking up the pass from Rudo Neshamba.

South Africa restored their lead just before the break when Amanda Mthandi picked up the ball some 35-yards from goal and produced a perfect chip to beat Zimbabwe goalkeeper Chido Dzingirai after she had advanced too far off her line.

The home side remained in control of the game and added a third through Busiswe Ndimeni as she headed into the net from a free-kick.

Zambia eased into the final with a 4-0 victory over Botswana as striker Rachel Nachula netted a brace to take her tally to 10 for the tournament and the outright leadership of the scorers chart.

Hellen Mubanga and Mary Mwakapila scored the other goals for Zambia, who had battled to see-off youthful Botswana in their final pool match on Tuesday, but wrapped up the game early in this contest as they led 3-0 at the break.

Zambia reach the COSAFA Women’s Championship final for the first time in their history, after three previous bronze-medal finishes.

The final between Zambia and South Africa will be played on Sunday, 12 August at the Wolfson Stadium at 14h00 (12h00 GMT).

The bronze medal match will be at the same venue on Saturday, 11 August at 15h00 (13h00).

Matches have FREE entry to fans, who can collect tickets from:
Spar –Daku
Spar –New Brighton
Spar –Zonke (Motherwell)
U Save –Opposite Wolfson Stadium



Zambia 4
(Nachula 12′, 78′, Mubanga 26′, Mwakapila 33′) Botswana 0 

South Africa 3 (Mbane 18’, Mthandi 45’, Ndimeni 81’) Zimbabwe 1 (Chirandu 21’)


At Wolfson Stadium

15h00 (13h00 GMT) – Botswana vs Zimbabwe

At Wolfson Stadium
14h00 (12h00 GMT) – Zambia vs South Africa

Matches played: 20

Goals scored: 113

Biggest victory: South Africa 17 Comoros Islands 0 (Group A, July 31)

Most goals in a game: 17 – South Africa 17 Comoros Islands 0 (Group A, July 31)


10 goals – Rachel Nachula (Zambia)

8 – Linda Kasenda (Malawi)

6 – Emmaculate Msipa (Zimbabwe)

5 – Zenatha Coleman (Namibia), Refiloe Jane (South Africa), Amanda Mthandi (South Africa), Rudo Neshamba (Zimbabwe)

3 – Mavis Chirandu (Zimbabwe), Bambanani Mbane (South Africa), Hellen Mubanga (Zambia), Mary Mwakapila (Zambia), Asimenye Simwaka (Malawi)

2 – Grace Chanda (Zambia),Ode Fulutudilu (South Africa), Zainabu Kapanda (Malawi), Arminda Lopes (Angola), Hilda Magaia (South Africa), Laurinda Maonte (Angola), Tenanile Mgcamphalala (Eswatini), Busiswe Ndimeni (South Africa), Marjoury Nyaumwe (Zimbabwe), Marie Rasoanandrasana (Madagascar), Nomvula Sanga (Eswatini), Sabinah Thom (Malawi)

1 – Michelle Abueng (Botswana), Kholosa Biyana (South Africa), Noxolo Cesane (South Africa), Hellen Chanda (Zambia), Theresa Chewe (Zambia), Rhoda Chileshe (Zambia), Violeta David (Mozambique), Keitumetse Dithebe (Botswana), Phumzile Dlamini (Eswatini), Esalenna Galekhutle (Botswana), Sibonelo Gwebu (Eswatini), Lorraine Jossob (Namibia), Annouscka Kordom (Namibia), Lucia (Mozambique), Tiisetso Makhubela (South Africa), Mamello Makhabane (South Africa), Cristina Makua (Angola), Wafat Mari (Comoros Islands), Tshegofatso Mosotho (Botswana), Lovisa Tuyakula Mulunga (Namibia), Hanitriniana Nivonirina (Madagascar), Lebogang Ramalepe (South Africa), Aimée Razanampiavy (Madagascar), Solomampionona Razananivo (Madagascar), Anna Shikusho (Namibia), Nonhle Simelane (Eswatini), Beverly Uueziua (Namibia), Salome Vinkhumbu (Malawi)

Own goals –Marie Jerome (Mauritius), Hanifa Melanie (Comoros Islands), Lalaina Razafimanantsoa (Madagascar)