13 June 2019 – Banyana Banyana head coach Desiree Ellis has made four changes for the second match of the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup against China, taking place tonight (Thursday, 13 June) at Parc des Princes in Paris.

Kickoff is at 21h00.

Two changes are enforced with goalkeeper Andile Dlamini making way for Kaylin Swart – Dlamini was injured at training, and she failed a late fitness test – while Sibulele Holweni comes in at left back for the suspended Nothando Vilakazi (she received two yellow cards in the match against Spain).

Both Swart and Holweni join Jermaine Seoposenwe as the only three South African women players to have appeared in two different World Cup tournaments at different age levels. Holweni was the captain of the South African U17 Women’s National Team at the 2018 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in Uruguay, while Swart (together with Seoposenwe) was part of the U17 Women’s National Team that played in the 2010 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in Trinidad and Tobago.

The other two changes see Bambanani Mbane and Mamello Makhabane coming for Linda Motlhalo and Amanda Mthandi.

In defence, Holweni and Mbane will join the experienced trio of captain Janine van Wyk, Noko Matlou and Lebohang Ramalepe.

Makhabane will be in the middle of the part alongside Kholosa Biyana, Thembi Kgatlana and Refiloe Jane, while Ode Filudutilu will be the lone striker.

Swart, Holweni, Mbane and Makhabane are making their 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup debut, as they did not come off the bench against Spain in the first match last weekend (8 June).

Both South Africa and China need maximum points as they lost to Spain and Germany respectively in the opening fixtures of Group B.

The Germans top the group after two wins – they defeated Spain 1-0 yesterday (Wednesday, 12 June) – followed by the Spaniards who are on three points, while China and South Africa lag behind with no points on the table.


Banyana Banyana XI vs China

Kaylin Swart (GK),Lebohang Ramalepe, Sibulele Holweni, Janine van Wyk (c), Noko Matlou, Bambanani Mbane, Kholosa Biyana, Mamello Makhabane, Refiloe Jane, Thembi Kgatlana, Ode Fulutudilu


Mapaseka Mpuru (GK), Karabo Dhlamini, Jermaine Seoposenwe, Tiisetso Makhubela, Bongeka Gamede, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Rhoda Mulaudzi, Leandra Smeda, Andile Dlamini (GK), Nothando Vilakazi, Amanda Mthandi, Linda Motlhalo

Head Coach: Desiree Ellis