3 June 2019 – Almost all of the Bafana Bafana players called up to prepare for the 2019 AFCON in Egypt have reported for camp and got down to business at Steyn City School on Monday, 3 June 2019.

Coach Stuart Baxter with his assistants Molefi Ntseki and Andre Arendse took the boys through a rigorous one and half hours training session in sweltering heat and on Tuesday, will up the ante as they will have two training sessions – one in the morning and the other in the afternoon.

Player liaison, Mark Fish was also in attendance giving his advice which coach Baxter said will come in handy for the entire squad.

Bafana Bafana are Group D, together with Ivory Coast, Morocco and Namibia. They kick off their AFCON campaign with a match against Ivory Coast on 24 June, followed by the match against Namibia on 28 June and they wrap up their group matches with a titanic match against Morocco on 1 July. All their matches are in Cairo.

In between training sessions, players will undergo mandatory Pre Competition Medical Assessment (PCMA) for the AFCON tournament. The PCMA includes checking the bloods, ECG, Echocardiogram and Muskoloskeletal Examination.

Team Doctor, Dr Thulani Ngwenya said the processes of PCMA will be done in stages until all players have been medically examined.

Meanwhile, Dr Ngwenya officially confirmed that Keagan Dolly will not take part in the upcoming AFCON tournament after the Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scans revealed that the dynamic midfielder has aggravated his niggling groin injury.

“He is completely out of the AFCON. There is no chance that his groin injury will recover in time,” said Dr Ngwenya.


1 Darren KEET Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
2. Ronwen WILLIAMS Supersport United FC (SA)
3. Bruce BVUMA Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
4. Thamsanqa MKHIZE Cape Town City FC (SA)
5. Buhle  MKHWANAZI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
6. Thulani HLATSHWAYO Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
7. S’Fiso Sandile  HLANTI Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
8. Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
9. Rivaldo COETZEE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
10. Daniel CARDOSO Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
11. Innocent MAELA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
12. Dean FURMAN Supersport United FC (SA)
13. Hlompho KEKANA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
14. Kamohelo MOKOTJO Brentford FC (ENG)
15. Tiyane MABUNDA Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
16. Bongani ZUNGU Amiens (France)
17. Lebohang PHIRI Guingamp
18. Thulani SERERO Vetesse FC (NETHERLANDS)
19. Themba ZWANE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
20. Thembinkosi LORCH Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
21. Percy TAU Royal Union St Gilloise
22. Lebohang MABOE Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
23. Lars VELDWJIK Sparta Rotterdam
24. Lebo MOTHIBA RC Strasbourg